Playtime for playboys

Image copyright: CE Ayr

“Scissors, rock, paper. C’mon, you big sissy.”
“Sticks ‘n stones can break my bones. But words can never hurt me. Nya nya nya. Mummy’s boy.”
“Cross that line, buddy, just cross that line.”
“You cross this line. My line, you chicken.”

“He’s scared.”
“They’re both scared.”
“Crazy.”
“Mad.”

“C’mon, feel that. That’s what we call muscle.”
“That’s nothing. Feel that!”

“Weird hairstyles, both of them.”
“Maybe that explains it.”

“See you after class. Behind the bike sheds.”
“I’ll be waiting.”
“My gang’s bigger than your gang.”
“My gang’s better than yours.”

“Kids!”
“Pathetic.”

“Fire and fury.”
“Absolute force.”

Boooooooooooooooom.

Sad.

 

Written for Rochelle Wisoff-Fields’ weekly 100 word challenge found here.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Playtime for playboys

  1. Dear Patrick,

    A commentary on the human condition I’d say. And that’s all I’m going to say. Good dialogue.

    Shalom,

    Rochelle

  2. rgayer55 says:

    I assume the two kids are Donald Trump and Kim Jong-Un.

  3. Oh! This is far too close to home. Very well done.

  4. I make all my decisions using rock, paper, scissors!

  5. Iain Kelly says:

    That says it all, I wonder if they were both bullied when they were growing up, or if they always liked to be the bullies.

  6. Dale says:

    You have so captured the essence of most boys! Somehow there is too often a boom at the end…

  7. You’ve drawn a very accurate picture of young males contending for Alpha position on the peer totem pole.☺

  8. gahlearner says:

    Perfect. Some people never grow up. Let’s hope an adult slaps tiny hands away before we all go boom.

  9. neilmacdon says:

    I knew who these kids were almost from the beginning, but that made it no less satisfying

  10. What a different style and delivery of story for this prompt. The voice of teenagers works well.

I'd love to read what you think ...

