No More Honey, Honey

Delighted that the Oxford comma rules: read about it here. I’ll list my reasons some other time.

Image copyright: Jennifer Pendergast

“So how come they can fit into a coffee cup?”

“There’re small, small. That’s all.”

“Yes, but they weren’t yesterday, were they?”

“Well, memory plays tricks; maybe yesterday they were small, we can’t tell.”

Expletive deleted.

“Okay, so they’re less big. I dunno, something they ate, something they read – that bloody Alice book? Something genetic – look at your mother; she’s pretty weird.”

“What? You shrunk the kids and now you’re blaming my mother. She always said I shouldn’t take up with you. I should’ve listened. I’m leaving.”

“Go then, and take those kids with you. ”

Expletive deleted.

“You too!”

 

Written for Rochelle Wisoff-Fields’ weekly 100 word challenge found here.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to No More Honey, Honey

  1. Thank you for deleting those expletives! Lol

  2. Michael Wynn says:

    Lovely dialogue, I liked the references and the deleted expletives

  3. Dear Patrick,

    Fun dialogue punctuated with deleted expletives. Well done. So Alice grew up and had a dysfunctional family. Makes sense. You’ll have to excuse me now. I’m late, I’m late for a very important date.

    Shalom,

    Rochelle

  4. Sarah Ann says:

    Such a small and powerful thing the Oxford comma. Great dialogue giving such a clear picture.

  5. Dale says:

    I am pro-Oxford comma, too!

  6. Oh my, I haven’t thought about Rick Moranis in a decade or more. Nice one.

    Hurrah for the Oxford comma! I’m a religious user because it saves me from worrying about the logic (and/or the absurdity) of my sentence. I have enough worries about absurdity in my writing!

I'd love to read what you think ...

