Every cloud

Image copyright: Rochelle Wisoff-Fields

Image copyright: Rochelle Wisoff-Fields

The cats have all gone.

A month ago we could walk around the neighbourhood and all sorts of tabbys and moggies would make their lazy ways off doorsteps, from under bushes, from the bonnets of parked cars, come up to us, entwine themselves around our ankles or stretch out on their backs looking for a tickle, a stroke.

Now, they’re gone. We miss them and those short bursts of therapy they offered, those moments when our cares and woes slipped away.

On the other hand, the birds are back, and the dawn chorus is heard once more.

Silver linings, eh?

Written for Rochelle Wisoff-Fields’ weekly 100 word challenge found here.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

30 Responses to Every cloud

  1. Why can’t we all get along? Nice one.

  2. Silver lining, indeed… Still, I really want to know where the cats went.

  3. That morning chorus will make it impossible to sleep… bring back some cats.

  4. Rommy says:

    I’d still be wondering about the cats.

  5. michael1148humphris says:

    The dogs are missing the cats. I hope that the dogs won’t disappear next. Balance thats what is needed.

  6. I enjoy cats, I do not enjoy the fact that they kill birds because birds are another one of my joys. This is a delightful piece, with a nice rhythm.

  7. Michael Wynn says:

    I am a bit worried for the cats, I can only think there’s been some sort of cull but I do wish they didn’t impact on the wildlife as much as they seem to.

  8. gahlearner says:

    Too many cats are a severe dangers to the birds. I hope the cats have been taken into shelters and found homes. I like the two angles of the story.

  9. rgayer55 says:

    I’m not a cat lover, though they seem to like me. My wife says they can sense I don’t care for them and loving on me is their form of revenge. Sick cats, if you ask me.

  10. csheldonblog says:

    guessing you don’t like cats…

  11. Life Lessons of a Dog Lover says:

    Nice story, although I too wonder where the cats went. I know if the birds will give as much therapy.

  12. Dale says:

    Wonder where the cats have gone? I’ll take the birds tweeting over cats caterwauling any day…

  13. Maybe at 4 o’clock in the morning one might wish for a few cats …

I'd love to read what you think ...

