Bent, broken and busted

Image copyright: Liz Young

Image copyright: Liz Young

Drain the swamp – you’ll find me.

I used to be important, used to have clout.

And then it all went wrong. I reached that age – you know, THAT age – that age when the boss calls you in, looks you in the eye/avoids your eye, puts on a sympathetic face and says, “Happy birthday.”

And you say, “But it’s not my birthday.”

And he/she says, “Human resources says it is, so it must be.”

He/she says, “Clear your desk. We’ll give you a good reference.”

But that’s no help. You’re THAT age now.

And soon you’re bent, broken and busted.

 

Written for Rochelle Wisoff-Fields’ weekly 100 word challenge found here.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to Bent, broken and busted

  1. Sarah Ann says:

    Great take on the prompt. I loved the voice in this – accepting but wanting to fight at the same time.

  2. This is so well written, conways the fear many of us harbour.

  3. I think about this often. Each day seems to get me closer to my expiration date.

  4. rgayer55 says:

    One of my co-workers (now retired) used to say the magic age was 56. I’m sixty-one and just trying to hold on for a few more years. However, there aren’t enough young workers here in the US to fill the void when all us Boomers retire. Employers are starting to figure that out.

    When you stop getting invited to meetings that you would normally be expected to attend, you know your neck is on the chopping block.

  5. Dear Patrick,

    I came damn close to being that statistic. However when my best friend was fired for something as ridiculous as saying, “Hunky Dory” we turned the tables on the boss with an age discrimination lawsuit. Happy (sort of) ending. She ended with a handsome settlement and I’m collecting retirement. You did a great job of writing that feeling. Well done.

    Shalom,

    Rochelle

  6. gahlearner says:

    Ouch, horribly circumstances when an employer can fire you just like that. And how generous, giving a good reference… Great story, the disillusionment comes through loud and clear.

  7. I have felt a touch of that… yes. Not yet in the pink-slip fashion, but damn near.

  8. Liz Young says:

    Oh dear – that sounds very personal. Time to carve out a new career?

I'd love to read what you think ...

