Case closed

Image copyright: Ted Strutz

Image copyright: Ted Strutz

The policeman sat on the very chair that Victor had used to ward off the lions in the ring.

The other performers couldn’t understand it. “Those beasts were vegetarians.”

“Victor would feed them cornflakes and milk in the morning,” said Coco the Clown.

“And then carrot and lentil curry in the evening,” volunteered Guilio, eldest of the Famous Nardini Flyers.

Barney, the Ringmaster nodded wisely, “Occasionally he would offer them chocolate treats, but only the vegan sort.”

The policeman snapped shut his notebook. He knew the motive, he knew the culprits. It was now up to the vet to decide.

 

Written for Rochelle Wisoff-Fields’ weekly 100 word challenge found here.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

29 Responses to Case closed

  1. Hehehehe…
    You can’t change a leopards spots.

  2. I love the format you chose to write this.

  3. Dear Patrick,

    I used to be an anorexia induced vegetarian. I love meat too much to ever go back there. 😉 I’m on the lions’ side. Fun story.

    Shalom,

    Rochelle

  4. michael1148humphris says:

    I was wondering – did the lions get indigestion.😋

  5. rgayer55 says:

    Amusing tale, Patrick. I suspect the lions are innocent, even though I’m having a hard time swallowing the vegan diets, especially since he was eating hamburgers in front of them. I bet the bearded lady had something to do with it.

  6. Michael Wynn says:

    Amusing take, reminded me of Shirley Valentine and the vegetarians who don’t feed their bloodhound meat. When Shirley has to look after him she feels sorry for it and gives it he husbands steak.

  7. Life Lessons of a Dog Lover says:

    Nice take on the prompt. Despite the dark subject I thought this was a nice light-hearted piece.

  8. Liz Young says:

    Very funny, except for the victims, human and animal/

  9. granonine says:

    Oh, wonderful! I was smiling all the way through 🙂

  10. Sandra says:

    I don’t think any self-respecting vet would blame the lions after that diet.

  11. wmqcolby says:

    Gee whiz! If I had been fed a diet like that, I’d be gong for that raw meat in a heartbeat!

    Funny stuff, Patrick! 😀

  12. Mmmm! A mystery. Vegetarian lions indeed. I want to see the results of the autopsy.

  13. Dale says:

    Things that make you go “Hmmmm…”

  14. James says:

    This Coco? I only know the animated Koko the Cloud.

I'd love to read what you think ...

