Food for Thought

Image copyright: Roger Bultot

Image copyright: Roger Bultot

Billy Barter got early notice that the Apostrophe Police were going to be out in force the week after. He stepped outside the diner, looked at the sign, went back in and called an extraordinary staff meeting – waiters, flippers, cooks and all sat sipping shakes, debating, agreeing. It was a rather civilized discussion.

Billy bust out the guns and ammo while the others started building the barricades. Customers were solicited for their support – the response was mixed – the bank manager and the school ma’am demurred, but as you would expect, the grocers were up for the fight.

 

Written for Rochelle’ Wisoff’-Field’s’ weekly 100 word challenge found’ here.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

27 Responses to Food for Thought

  1. The Apostrophe police is a new one on me too. I don’t feel at home changing now so I’m with them. A humorous piece, Patrick. 😀 — Suzanne

  2. mjlstories says:

    The extra one’s usually balance out with the missed ones in the end. And in case they dont here are some spares ”””.
    Fun story!

  3. Michael Wynn says:

    Very good, but shouldn’t it be the waiter’s, flippers’s, cooks’ and particularly the Grocer’s’s

  4. Rowena says:

    Well done! Love the Apostrophe Police!
    xx Rowena

  5. Dale says:

    Ow! My eyes! My eyes!! I am always flabbergasted when apostrophes are lacking or misplaced… then again, here in Quebec, the language police (yes, we have language police here) will not put up with anything English so all the apostrophes have been dropped… ugh…

  6. Liz Young says:

    So far I have resisted the temptation to carry Tippex when I shop for vegetables.

  7. Ha.. it sounds like it’s worth fighting for.

  8. Love it! I’d be with the boys (and girls) in blue.

  9. Sandra says:

    You can never have too many apostrophe’s I alway’s say. Good one, Patrick.

  10. wmqcolby says:

    Well, now I have heard everything. The grammar police are not too far behind always but the Apostrophe Police? That’s a new one on me.

    Well done, Patrick! Five out of five “don’t use no double negatives.”

  11. Iain Kelly says:

    I’m sure there are websites dedicated to finding signs with wrongly-placed apostrophes. Very funny take 🙂

  12. Dear Patrick,

    Woman without her man is nothing. Without an apostrophe you cant own it. My office is punctuated with laughter. (Yes I caught that last line…Rochelle’ Wisoff’….)

    Shalom,

    Rochelle

  13. Haha! This was hilarious. And it’s always the grocers…

  14. neilmacdon says:

    The panda eats, shoots, and leaves

I'd love to read what you think ...

