Blessings, Mixed

Image: Pixabay

Image: Pixabay

City centre. Eleven o’clock. Crescent moon. It’s chilly but not raining. The square’s deserted.

The street lights throw shadows. I sit breaking up cigarette butts, saving the tobacco, discarding the filter tips. I should have enough for a few days. Maybe even some to share.

I hear wheels on cobbles. It’s the street missionaries going about their God business. They draw closer. I see the soup urn on the cart. I hope they also have gloves. There’ll be snow, next month.

I recognise the tall girl. Julia. She doesn’t preach.

“Hi Dad,” she calls out.

“Hi, Jools,” I say.

 

This for Rochelle Wisoff-Fields weekly 100 word challenge found here.

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

26 Responses to Blessings, Mixed

  1. Margaret says:

    Wonderful scene-setting in the beginning, and the character dynamics are intriguing. I’d love to know how these two came to be where they are.

  2. gahlearner says:

    This could be everywhere. Very sad, but even in despair there’s love.

  3. Michael Wynn says:

    Very thoughtful and thought inspiring. Crumbling dog ends is a great image

  4. Dale says:

    That was beautifully written, Patrick. Tender, sad, sweet…

  5. Life Lessons of a Dog Lover says:

    You painted the picture of despair beautifully. Heart tugging ending.

  6. rgayer55 says:

    I had a friend who used to crumble cigarette butt to get his tobacco. He wasn’t homeless, just underage. My daughter doesn’t preach either–but sometimes her Mom does.

  7. I love the line – I hope they also have gloves.
    Your entire piece is lovely. Smooth and consoling although the subject is not.

  8. HonieBriggs says:

    “She doesn’t preach” three words that speak volumes. Excellent!

  9. Very touching. You wonder about the back-story.

  10. Ahh, so sad. I love how it’s hard to know which of them feels more deserted by the other, even though there is clearly love there. Beautiful.

  11. Lynn Love says:

    This has a real timeless quality to it. It could be from 100 years ago, could be from yesterday. Love the sparse description in the first lines, matching the deserted state of the city. Super stuff

  12. Mike says:

    You painted a interesting picture. Well writen

  13. Dear Patrick,

    I see that you wrote yours before I was able to recoup the prompt. Kudos for going ahead and writing a story. Very well done.

    Shalom,

    Rochelle

  14. Sandra says:

    Very moving. Well done.

I'd love to read what you think ...

