Brexit

Image copyright: Rochelle Wisoff-Fields

Image copyright: Rochelle Wisoff-Fields

You wake up, stretch, climb out of the sleeping bag, ask, “What’s the day gonna bring?” You fill the kettle – it takes ages, and the water is brown – break a few matches before the gas catches. Your clothes are damp from condensation, the windows opaque with dead insects and mould. You find your tablets, toss them into your mouth, wash them down with the dregs of last night’s beer.

The radio crackles. There is a new world order.

You hear, “Ask not what the day can bring to you, but what you can bring to the day.”

You feel sick.

 

Written in response to the weekly 100 word challenge posted by Rochelle Wisoff-Fields. Click here to learn more; you know you want to.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

34 Responses to Brexit

  1. Your character’s just short of the bottom of the barrel. I wonder if he even takes the time to boil that brown water. That made me shiver. The damp clothing reminds me of the monsoon here in India. It takes about two days to dry clothes that are hung up. Well written, Patrick. —- Suzanne

  2. I was pulled into your protagonist’s grim reality with the very first sentence. Beautifully written!

  3. Such an interesting view on new world order. Yours, mine, his.

  4. Margaret says:

    No – I suspect your character hasn’t got much to bring to the day. I don’t like his chances in the new order, whatever it turns out to be. Great portrait of a loser. Well described.

  5. Dear Patrick,

    The world is a worrisome place right now. Well done.

    Shalom,

    Rochelle

  6. Sandra says:

    I’m in the mood for positivity. Your character clearly is not. He should get up, clean the mould off the windows, sweep away the insects and take a fresh look at the day. I don’t think he will, though

  7. “I hope you found it worrying.” Oh, yes indeed. Kudos – I think.

  8. A bleak future.
    There is hope … humanity always survives some how.

  9. If there is tea there is hope… Yes it would be a reason to be sad.

  10. Jan Brown says:

    A sad state of affairs! Well-written and too close to reality for comfort!

  11. mjlstories says:

    That about sums it up…Well done.

  12. madamewriter says:

    Interesting story for current difficult societal issues.

  13. rgayer55 says:

    I’ve had a few mornings like that. If Trump gets elected president, 99% of Americans may be in this same predicament.

  14. michael1148humphris says:

    I reckon you could write many a Bexit. One of the first comments I heard after the referendum was I’m leaving for a warmer place. 🙂

  15. Our brave new world!

  16. neilmacdon says:

    I’m collecting post-Brexit stories. This one is grimly post-apocalyptic. I hope you’re wrong

I'd love to read what you think ...

