Endless Summer

Image copyright:  Rochelle Wisoff-Fields

Image copyright: Rochelle Wisoff-Fields

Ozone, seaweed – my nostrils are assailed; my toes dig into the warm sand, caress each granule, rocks fragmented, ground down by millions of years of wind and surf. On my sun-kissed skin I taste salt, iodine.

I lean back and take in the symphony as the waves roll in, roll out – cymbals followed by kettle drums followed by base; in the lull the strings come in – gentle, understated; a chorus of gulls explores syncopation.

I stare blindly at the far horizon and see barques, barkentines and brigantines, fading in, fading out.

Somewhere deep down, Neptune is smiling, “Job done.”

 

Written for Rochelle Wisoff-Fields’ weekly 100 word challenge. Try it.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

34 Responses to Endless Summer

  1. A somewhat different genre than usual, Patrick, but a lovely scene. 🙂 — Suzanne

  2. Amy Reese says:

    Beautiful and rhythmic like the tide. Really lovely, Patrick. I want to run on the sand now into the ocean spray. 😊

  3. Margaret says:

    Beautiful images and atmosphere. I’m right in there with your narrator. Bliss.

  4. I almost expected Neptune to hurl some waves at the narrator in the end.

  5. Dear Patrick,

    You made me want to dig my own toes in the sand. Atmospheric piece. I learned some new terms along the way.

    Shalom,

    Rochelle

  6. rgayer55 says:

    You went a little mushy on us this week, Patrick. I kept waiting for a spring-loaded snake to jump from the can and into my face.

    All in all, a very well written and peaceful prose. No one got killed, maimed, or came down with a serious case of bad breath. 🙂

  7. Yes! “Job done”. This was an assault on the senses (in a good way). One minute I was on the beach, the next I was in a smokey Jazz club imagining Neptune as a crazed conductor!

    I loved the use of ‘Ozone’ for its descriptive purposes. It was instantly striking and a great choice of word to open this piece. I’m so used to seeing it in articles about the destruction of the planet that I actually had to Google it to see if it was spelled correctly because it appeared so alien here (again in a good way).

  8. Beautiful! All of it reads like a prose-poem, especially these lines:
    “Ozone, seaweed – my nostrils are assailed; my toes dig into the warm sand, caress each granule, rocks fragmented, ground down by millions of years of wind and surf. On my sun-kissed skin I taste salt, iodine.”
    They read well when read aloud. Very satisfying.

  9. gahlearner says:

    Job very well done indeed. This is so relaxing, I want to be there.

  10. michael1148humphris says:

    Well done Neptune, and well done you. Music for my soul

  11. mjlstories says:

    Makes me want to head to the coast and breath…Neptune should indeed be proud.

  12. Dahlia says:

    Loved the musical waves.

  13. Oh I love the way you have used instruments here!

  14. Very nice, beautifully described symphony!

  15. nice rhythm to this. kinda like the waves lapping./

I'd love to read what you think ...

