Mary has an internal monologue which leads to a moment of clarity

Image copyright: The Reclining Gentleman

Image copyright: The Reclining Gentleman

He’s sent me flowers.
The darling man. I love him so.

For Valentine’s day. I love him too.
He’s a saint.

Daffodils. Roses would’ve been nice.
S’okay. They’re flowers. He remembered.

Plastic flowers! Unusual?
So they’ll never wilt!

The card is from the Pound Shop.
Thrift is good. Somebody once said.

I think his PA wrote it for him.
Oh, it’s your imagination.

I’m sure it’s her handwriting.
He must be so busy. At least he…

It’s a week early. St Valentine’s is next week.
He’s ahead of the game.

He’s a total shit.
He’s a total shit.

 

Written for Rochelle Wisoff-Fields’ highly addictive weekly 100 word challenge. Don’t click here if you want to avoid getting hooked.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

48 Responses to Mary has an internal monologue which leads to a moment of clarity

  1. Where have all the flowers gone?…When will they ever learn? When will they ever learn?

  2. Hilarious, Patrick. I also loved how that progressed. She’s smarter than some who’d put up with that s**t. 😀 — Suzanne

  3. Thank goodness for moments of clarity.

  4. Dale says:

    Love where you went with this… and how she tried to justify his actions until finally admitting that he is a shit!

  5. Margaret says:

    At last! She gets it! She’s a bit slow, but I’m glad she realised the truth at the end. I like how you’ve done this, Patrick. Very clever.

  6. Lori Carlson says:

    With each line, I hated him more… he shouldn’t have even bothered. *laughs* great take on the prompt!

  7. I agree on that list line…from riches to rags in few verses. Nicely done, Patrick. 🙂

  8. Dear Patrick,

    Yup. He’s a piece of shit. Well done.

    Shalom,

    Rochelle

  9. Amy Reese says:

    He is a shit! Haha. I almost did a story along these lines. I like how you did it. Especially the end…almost and then, no way, the guy is a loser! I’m glad she came to her senses.

  10. Glad she finally saw the light! Love the way it’s constructed

  11. I know how she should start her letter to him…

    Dear John,

    It’s not you, it’s me, but I prefer us not to be friends.

    Mary

  12. elmowrites says:

    Yeah, there’s only so far you can go to justify him, Mary. Move on and find someone who understands that roses (like diamonds) are overpriced and over valued, but still occasionally worth the price tag!

  13. Sandra says:

    What a great idea! I loved the construction. Not the guy, of course…

  14. gahlearner says:

    Whoops. I think no flowers at all would have been better. Great train of thoughts. I have no idea what a PA is though.

    • Ah, personal assistant, a sort of glorified secretary. Maybe now redundant??
      Thanks for reading – yes to no flowers.

      • gahlearner says:

        Ah, thanks about the PA. English is not my mother tongue, and Google brought me things like Press Association or Public Address system as an explanation. Sometimes the abbreviations are tricky for me, it has nothing to do with your story at all.

  15. Oh I had such high hopes for her at the beginning! Brilliantly paced.

  16. Perfectly, perfectly captured thoughts! I loved the pacing and the internal monologue of this woman. That man is an absolute cad. Poor woman!

  17. storydivamg says:

    The prick! I’m glad she’s onto him.

    Good work this week.

    Cheers!
    MG

  18. lillian says:

    Smiling I am….even though this guy is a bonafide jerk — I think. But maybe not to her.
    Nice take….love the idea of the dialogue back and forth.

  19. It’s time Mary moved on. Plastic flowers he is guilty as charged

  20. I don’t like him either.

  21. oldentimes says:

    I think you hit the nail on the head there! Nice story.

I'd love to read what you think ...

