‘Tis the season of goodwill

Image copyright: Scott L. Vannatter

Image copyright: Scott L. Vannatter

Worry, worry, worry, what to feed the hordes this Christmas. I’m okay on the veggies – no problem there, and Mary’s bringing a starter and the pud’s now two months mature. But the meat dish! It was turkey last year, goose the one before. Need something different or there’ll be complaints.
“Rabbit!” says Barry.
“You’re joking,” says Tommy.
“Beef!” That’s from Debbie.
“Venison!” I say.
There’s a chorus of approval.
“Too dry,” says Barry.
“Mouse!” says Tabby.
The fairy at the top of the tree smirks.
“Watch yourself,” I say.
It’s the same every year.
I love it all.
Merry Christmas.

Written for Rochelle Wisoff-Fields’ weekly 100 word challenge found here.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to ‘Tis the season of goodwill

  1. Echoing others’ comments, you big, old softy! Excellent and a Drabble what’s more. Make sure you send it to Sandy. Hope to see you hobbling back to Macc Creative Writers’ Group in January!

  2. Great holiday story. I love the cat suggesting mouse. If it was Garfield, he’d suggest lasagna. I also love the smirking fairy at the top of the tree. I’m surprised the tree doesn’t speak. Amusing story, Patrick. Well done. 😀 — Suzanne

  3. Margaret says:

    It sounds familiar – I love the talking cat and smirking tree fairy.

  4. Sandra says:

    I was expecting the cat to be served up too. Nice one Patrick.

  5. Graham Lawrence says:

    The image of a smirking fairy is now ingrained …

  6. gahlearner says:

    The cat wants mouse and the fairy smirks: what fun! Happy Holidays.

  7. The fairy at the top of the tree smirks. I love this line. It caught me off guard, in a lovely way.

  8. Phew I thought they were going to eat the cat for a moment!

  9. How about squirrel? Merry Christmas to you and yours x

I'd love to read what you think ...

