Besides the Seaside

Image copyright: Sandra Crook

Image copyright: Sandra Crook

The eager dawn sun licks yellow on the welcoming cliff face. The beach waits patiently for its first time-tabled swim of the day.

In the comfortable hotel, guests doze, dreaming happily in sundry foreign languages while yet sleepy waiters lay out meats and cheeses and freshly-baked breads.

A zephyr breathes its salty, sea-weedy journey around the headland carrying a promise of blue skies and mid-morning ice-cream cones.

The deck-chair attendant stirs his early morning cuppa, milk, one sugar.

Gulls, the reconnaissance party, mew overhead, scour the area for titbits from yesterday’s tides.

My camera clicks, assures me I am content.

 

Written for Rochelle Wisoff-Fields’ weekly 100 word Friday Fictioneer challenge. Click here to find more.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

56 Responses to Besides the Seaside

  1. Lovely story with great description of the early activities, Patrick. Well written. 🙂 — Suzanne

  2. What a beautiful capture of a restful moment.

  3. rogershipp says:

    What a lovely rest-filled, vacation piece! (I prefer the same feelings… but the mountains!)

  4. Melanie says:

    That last line is the essence of the story and brings everything preceding together.
    C – the beach wouldn’t be waiting for the swimmer, but the ocean.

    • Pleased you enjoyed it.
      C- I was hoping it would be understood as waiting for the first tide – for which, of course, there is a timetable. A bit obscure, maybe.

      • Melanie says:

        Ah! The tide. Of course. Perhaps “wave” instead of swimmer. That was the only piece that tripped me up, the swimmer. Still, it’s a good moment of life story.

  5. Lovely depiction; are there many single women in their (early) 50’s there? If so, I’m ready to book!

  6. Amy Reese says:

    Patrick, you just took me to a wonderfully relaxing place. I can fee the salty zephyr on my face as I like an ice cream cone. Great stuff!

  7. rgayer55 says:

    You should write for one of those travel magazines. I know a guy who does quite well at that. He also convinces the family owned hotels and restaurants to give him discounts or free meals in exchange for mentioning them in his stories.

    Personally, I assumed the gulls were looking for someone to drop white bombs on.

  8. Feels a bit like a list, but what a wonderful list it is. I can see and smell the scenery. Makes me want a vacation. 🙂

  9. Such a blissful setting, Patrick… you’re right; it’s interesting how different our takes were! I want to visit this sweet spot. 🙂

  10. Arl's World says:

    Love the way you were so descriptive and still managed to keep it within our 100 words …nice! Lazy summer … 🙂

  11. mjlstories says:

    Just perfect. Could pick lots of great parts, but think I love the idea of all those languages that are being dreamed best of all.

  12. gahlearner says:

    This is wonderful. Yawning, stretching, taking a deep breath, smelling the air, seeing the early morning colours–it’s all there. I have nothing for the C, it’s taking your readers right into the picture, making them hungry for breakfast.

  13. Dale says:

    I love this, Patrick. The lazy awakening so well described. I was *there*.

  14. C- I like how the setting is a character in this work. I agree with the others. You took us on a relaxing journey.
    Thanks,
    Tracey

  15. As someone who loves photography I could relate very well to your beautiful descriptions.

  16. I really love how you describe the resort waking up.. there is something special to be there for the snapshot and not to occupy a deckchair that often happens.

  17. Wonderful descriptions of the world waking up. I love the idea of the sun licking yellow on the cliff. There’s something about the whole piece that reminds me of Under Milk Wood when the village is waking.

    C- very minor, but did you know you’ve used ‘early’ three times, and ‘earlier’ once? If you did, just ignore me!

  18. Lovely languid language like a lazy lullaby – before the hordes arrive with their picnic and drop litter and the gulls go mad pinching ice cream cones from kids’ hands.

  19. micklively says:

    A wonderful view of Summer.

  20. ceayr says:

    Whoa, chill, man, that frantic pace will wear you out in no time!
    Cool piece of work, Patrick.

  21. jellico84 says:

    Oooooo, I so enjoyed the image you created, left me wanting to be there rather than here amid the holiday rush. 🙂 ❤

  22. I really loved your descriptions.

  23. I feel so relaxed after reading this – great visuals!

  24. You described it so well, I was there!

  25. Sandra says:

    Couldn’t be more evocative of the seaside… beautifully crafted, appealing to all the senses.

  26. Dear Patrick,

    This would be the best time to hit the beach. 😉 Wonderful descriptions that put me in the moment. I want to check into that hotel.

    Shalom,

    Rochelle

I'd love to read what you think ...

