And don’t be late

Image copyright: Ted Strutz

Image copyright: Ted Strutz

“Pass me that ashtray. Cigar? You don’t smoke? Guess it takes all types.

“So tell me about yourself, why do you wanna work for Bumbo’s Funfair?

“Speak to me, tell me you wanna work eighteen hours a day, seven days a week, sleeping under the wagons, crap pay, staple diet of burgers, surrounded by greasy-haired loner drifters unable to grasp the concept of personal hygiene and who probably regard your sister, your mother and a good looking boy such as yourself as fair game.

“So tell me!

“Oh, you like organ music! Good enough for me. Start tomorrow.”

 

Written for Rochelle Wisoff-Fields’ weekly 100 word Friday Fictioneer challenge. Dare you?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

44 Responses to And don’t be late

  1. Great dialogue, an enjoyable read.

  2. Great one-sided dialogue. The interviewer forgot to ask the most important question. “Are you so hungry you’ve been eating grass?” Well done, Patrick. —– Suzanne

  3. rgayer55 says:

    I loved the line “fail to grasp the concept of personal hygiene” I knew a couple of those guys, Stinky Stillwell and his brother Dewey Phewey

  4. Dale says:

    Great one-sided discourse!

  5. Anyone who likes organs definitely belongs at a FunFair –
    or church….
    pass me the ashtray, please.

    Randy

  6. hafong says:

    Was it really the organ music….? I see the guy with the voice a bit of an ogre.

    Lily

  7. An excellent non-dialogue! Love how it builds up in its description of the awfulness of working at such places, and then, ends with that last line, and quick acceptance. Well-done!

  8. mjlstories says:

    Great one-sided conversation – works really well. I don’t know whether to laugh or cry – very funny/strange piece. But please tell him not to take that job!

  9. Dear Patrick,

    The voice in this paints the whole picture of the character. Very well done.

    Shalom,

    Rochelle

  10. gahlearner says:

    When I was a kid, I would have taken the job, too. Great voice, I can almost see that interviewer.

  11. micklively says:

    Should run away from the circus to become prime minister a.la John Major.
    Clever idea.

  12. Honie Briggs says:

    There’s a career path for everyone, isn’t there? No strings to hold me down, the carnie’s life for me. Nah.

  13. I think on my balance the organ music would have been another reason not to take a job like that.

  14. Ha! I love the list of things that would make you want to run from the interview yet all the future sap wants is organ music Nicely done.

  15. ceayr says:

    Excellent, Patrick, but how did you become so cynical?

  16. That’s cool – that’s all it took to get the job – like the organ music.

  17. Sandra says:

    Sounds like an offer no-one could refuse. Nice take.

  18. misskzebra says:

    If only all jobs were so easy to get…

  19. Very entertaining Patrick, enjoy your shorts! Good dialogue

I'd love to read what you think ...

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.