The RPS Annual Conference

Image copyright: The Reclining Gentleman

Image copyright: The Reclining Gentleman

The council chamber was packed to the gunnels, standing room only, all the chairs and perches occupied with many delegates having to share.

Big Boy Owl gazed around from the podium. “They’re all here,” he muttered, “Mice, rabbits, and hedgehogs. Snakes! And, wow, three varieties of squirrels. We’re even honoured by the deer community this year; there’s a moose and a muntjac as well as a roe. Ha! A fox. A challenge for the caterers – this mix of carnivores, vegetarians and vegans.”

He took a sip of water, cleared his throat, spoke, “Members of the Roadkill Prevention Society – welcome.”

 

Written for Rochelle Wisoff-Fields’ weekly 100 word challenge found here.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

63 Responses to The RPS Annual Conference

  1. ansumani says:

    ha ha. It’s like a scene from Lion King and the name of the society as the punchline was classic. Good one.

  2. Excellent! this made me laugh!

  3. Love it. 😉
    How can I donate?
    Randy

  4. Bodhirose says:

    Ha…didn’t see that coming…fun!

  5. Ha! This is wonderful. There should be a RPS. We just took a road trip and the number of poor beasties dead along side the road was mind boggling.

  6. Hester Miranda Alcock says:

    and I thought it was a metaphor!

    Sent from my iPad

    >

  7. gahlearner says:

    And then there’s the buzzard who wants to join RPS but secretly likes the roadkill because it’s easy food… Great twist, I LOLed, too.

  8. Margaret says:

    I’m applauding their efforts, but I think they’re fighting a losing battle. Wonderful story.

  9. What a sweet, refreshing take on the prompt! Can humans be members too? I once ran over a duck that was already run over. I think I just took it out of its misery. But that small pop haunts me still 😦

  10. Three varieties of squirrels. The Road Kill Prevention Society, I love it. 🙂

  11. Dale says:

    Snort, chortle, chuckle! 😀

  12. Very clever! (What’s a skipjack? Google only says a type of tuna… that’s some fish out of water!) I’d hate to be in the auto that road-killed a moose!

  13. ceayr says:

    Chuckling here, Patrick.

  14. Cute story! Loved your twist to the prompt.

  15. Mama Zen says:

    This made me laugh out loud!

  16. misskzebra says:

    The Roadkill Prevention Society! This made me laugh. A very creative take on the prompt!

  17. Interesting response to the photo. I love it!

  18. Great idea for a story from the picture.

  19. I recommend to start a Caltrop program for RPS.

  20. k rawson says:

    Love it! Quite an image & so inventive.

  21. That is so good. I love it. Very original take on the prompt. You obviously think outside the box

  22. Hehe, three varieties of squirrels made me giggle. And a nice twist at the end. Even with the photo prompt I didn’t see that coming.

  23. Dear Patrick,

    Clever take on the prompt. Love it.

    Shalom,

    Rochelle

  24. micklively says:

    LOL. Reminded me of the Larson cartoon showing the crows looking down on the flat elephant.
    Good piece.

  25. Sandra says:

    Great take on the prompt Patrick. Made me smile.

I'd love to read what you think ...

