Out of Stock

Image copyright: G.L. MacMillan

Image copyright: G.L. MacMillan

I stare at the array of ink bottles. Which to use? The muse is away – summer holidays –I need to choose for myself.
I dip into Anger – it does nothing for me – screw up sheet, reach for one fresh; Bitterness – that’ll do, but no. Jealousy – always a winner – damn! I chuck another sheet into the bin.
Let’s try Nice, I think – the nib retracts into the pen! Same for Happiness, Altruism, Sympathy.
I phone InkShop.com. “Vitriol,” I say, “I need Vitriol.”
They are sympathetic. “Out of stock. There’s been a run. All those muses on holiday. Sorry.”  

100 words written for Rochelle Wisoff-Fields’ Friday Fictioneer challenge. Here they are.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

49 Responses to Out of Stock

  1. Margaret says:

    Oh, so that’s where I’ve been going wrong – I just use the keyboard. I love your story, Patrick. It’s brilliant.

  2. mjlstories says:

    Quite Jungian. I think you just need to mix all those inks together and create an integrated whole – or just a lovely mess!
    Great piece!

  3. My favourite this week. Very inventive.

  4. I loved it. You had a muse you didn’t even know you had. lol

  5. gahlearner says:

    Brilliant! You didn’t tell us about the fragile bottle of inspiration, the one you just used. May that ink never dry up.

  6. ceayr says:

    I guess they had a well full of Droll.

  7. Amazing, if there was a winner you would be the WINNER!

  8. Dale says:

    Patrick, this was brilliant! Creatively wow!

  9. Ingenious and cleverly original devisive story for the prompt. SUPER WRITE …!!!
    Isadora 😎

  10. micklively says:

    There’s a Pythonesque quality to this.
    Good piece.

  11. Dear Patrick,

    Very clever!

    Shalom,

    Rochelle

  12. draliman says:

    Great story and very imaginative. I love the idea of an ink for every emotion!

  13. Delightful! Just delightful.

  14. ansumani says:

    Looks like he can do well without a muse ! Nice one.

  15. storydivamg says:

    Great work this week, Patrick! Here’s hoping the muses return before long. Otherwise the readers of the world are in some serious trouble.

    Cheers!
    MG

  16. Dave says:

    Have to fall back on good old-fashioned Venom, I suppose. Poison Pen activate!

  17. Love this!!! Cleverly done – a real joy to read 🙂

  18. Patrick,
    My favorite flash this week. Brilliant. My muse took a brief holiday but she’s back, unfortunately or fortunately writing with “loss” and “grief”.
    Tracey

  19. i b arora says:

    it left me wondering, what could i use?

  20. Sandra says:

    Very amusing… see what I did there? Good one.

  21. Good one Patrick. I’m smiling ear to ear with this one.

  22. MrBinks says:

    ha ha ha, excellent.

  23. So creative and well written, you did it again!

I'd love to read what you think ...

