History of Art

Image source: Wikimedia Commons

Image source: Wikimedia Commons

She said, “Do you know that woman? Wearing red. Standing opposite the Nell Gwyn.”
He looked, “No.”
“Strange. She turned in this direction, didn’t look at us.”
“Strange?”
“We’re a handsome, nay, striking couple, darling. Most people do a double-take.”
“Shortsighted?”
“That’s it. Well, I’m off to the shop – prezzie for Cordelia.”
“You’re a caring mother.”
“And then sustenance. Order you a coffee?”
“Please. And carrot cake. I’ll be there in ten.”

His eyes lingered over the portraits – Mistresses of the Monarchs. Moved across to her. Stood close. Inhaled her fragrance. Touched her precious hand.
She whispered, “I love you.”

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to History of Art

  1. in567 says:

    coffee and carrot cake? I’ll be there now. :oD

  2. I like the sound of the wife, hope he doesn’t throw that away. I did initially wonder whether ‘she’ was a painting!

  3. kirizar says:

    Not sure whether I am hoping that he is fantasizing romancing a painting or that he is a crass man who makes a rendezvous with his lover when his wife will be present.

    • I think it’s an unexpected encounter with his lover. Close shave.

      • kirizar says:

        I’m sorry, but according to every single cop drama and detective story, there is no such thing as a coincidence. I suspect his wife knows and she has snuck around a corner to wait. The minute she sees him kiss his lover, she will brain him with the plaster of Paris replica of Winged Victory sold in the gift shop they bought for his mother.

I'd love to read what you think ...

