The Code

Image copyright: C. Hase

Image copyright: C. Hase

I watched as they stood him in a barrel and poured in quick setting cement. He wriggled his toes as long as he could but soon there was no more movement.

Naturally he pleaded. “C’mon, Eddie, for old times’ sake, shoot me, make it quick.”

Eddie just laughed. “Nah, we do this for all the squealers. Omertà, buddy, is what you signed up to, and you broke the code.”

After they finished having fun with their knives and a blowtorch, I wrapped a heavy chain around his broken body and rolled it into the sea.

All in a day’s work.

 

For this week’s Friday Fictioneer 100 word challenge from Rochelle Wishoff-Fields. Find it here.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

45 Responses to The Code

  1. Oh my, this was dark. Lovely! 🙂

  2. A really dark and terrifying story. The point of view and horror of the narrator/participant made this even more graphic.

  3. I guess honor among thieves is painful.

  4. MythRider says:

    Aaa. It was difficult to hit like. Poor Guy. One should be more careful which organization one joins.

  5. afairymind says:

    What an incredibly dark piece! He definitely chose the wrong line of work. Good story. 🙂

  6. micklively says:

    Nasty!
    Good piece.

  7. Margaret says:

    Painful. Your story made me squirm. Wonderfully evocative and so dark

  8. storydivamg says:

    Oh my goodness. I didn’t know you could go this dark. And yet you maintain an integrity in your writing that makes this story excellent. I couldn’t look away.

    All my best,
    Marie Gail

  9. Scares me. I had a close my eyes while reading the story.
    Randy

  10. phylor says:

    I image there isn’t going to be a stoolie in that mob for a very long time — especially if a camera was involved.
    Great story — “all in a day’s work.”!

  11. Sandra says:

    Grim or what? I think they could have saved some time and just shot him.

  12. Dave says:

    Sounds like too much effort to go through for a stoolie.

  13. Dear Patrick,

    “All in a day’s work?” I’d find another occupation. The cavalier voice of the narrator makes this piece most chilling. Well done.

    Shalom,

    Rochelle

  14. gahlearner says:

    Ouch! This is different. Great story, great take on the prompt, but I want to forget the mental images quickly…

  15. Eeww
    Good imagery but I’d rather forget the images.
    Tracey

  16. You gotta teach a lesson the next guy won’t forget.

  17. The casual tone works well against the darkness of the piece. Nice.

  18. ansumani says:

    Nice job….hope it pays well. Nicely done story.

  19. Yewh (in a good way). Not only didn’t they make it quick, they made it REALLY slow and painful. Well done – I think.

  20. That’s why I never married into the Mob…well, there are other reasons, too. 😉 Good one!

  21. paulmclem says:

    Grim. Freddo got off lightly in Godfather II 🙂

I'd love to read what you think ...

