Overheard #12: Man in village pub

garden art

The neighbours aren’t very happy about my choice of yard art, the bunch of stuck up metros. Most of them are incomers, from t’smoke, not been here for more than a decade or so, and here they are turning up their noses at ordinary people, hard working citizens, educated in the school of life, not in the galleries and museums named after philanthropists renowned for their generosity and for their earlier ruthless approach to accumulating huge fortunes at the expense of the little man like myself.

It makes me sick. I mean, take number 7 over the road, the Stitchbothams, they leave their outdoor Christmas decorations up way beyond the twelfth night, all reindeer and santas and bleeding little gnomes, talk about lack of taste, they’ve got no shortage of it.

As for them at number 12, well! Let me tell you …

Oh, my turn? Pints all round then?

 

Written for Mondays Finish the Story found here.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Overheard #12: Man in village pub

  1. I loved how he was talking about his neighbors but when it came time to tell his story he buys them all pints of brew. Great story! I enjoyed reading it.

    • He’s basically a nice man, I guess. Maybe a bit mis-guided on the art front, but then so were many of the masters. De gustibus non est disputandum, as someone once said.

  2. Good story, Patrick. I like the description. I think his yard art is safe if he keeps buying pints all round at the local pub. Hunorous and well done. 😀 — Suzanne

  3. John Yeo says:

    Brilliant work Patrick ~ You capture the bumptious anal ramblings of a half cut fart perfectly here ~ Very well written 🙂

  4. phylor says:

    I think I was in the pub that night. Had to kick him out at midnight. Selfies began to appear.
    Great story — capturing pub conversation convincingly.

  5. Sally says:

    I’ve come across a few of those fellas in the pub from time to time who love to share their opinions about everything but at least he takes his turn in buying the round!

  6. draliman says:

    I can see this chap in the pub ranting away, his friends all waiting to a word in to tell him to get the next round!
    I love how he still regards people who have been there a decade as newcomers. It’s a bit like that down here in Cornwall too!
    Great story.

  7. Sonya says:

    You pulled off the voice of ranting pub man convincingly. Reading those long, rambling sentences, I can picture him, waving his hands around. Nice work!

  8. babso2you says:

    I’ll have one! Loved your story and how you define the metros! Thanks for participating again Patrick and I hope that you return next week for another interesting challenge… Be well! ^..^

I'd love to read what you think ...

