Once upon a time

Image copyright: Sandra Crook

Image copyright: Sandra Crook

Not many of us left, mused the troll, curled up in a ball beneath the bridge, desperately trying to ward off the cold and hunger brought on by the bitter and goat-free winter.

And, you ask, is that surprising, what with children nowadays rarely picking up a book, preferring television and computer games, or when they do actually read, it’s usually about vampires or superheroes or a poorly dressed teddy bear with a Peruvian accent and a penchant for marmalade.

No enthusiasm for trolls or big bad wolves or evil witches nowadays.

And thus civilization decays. We can but weep.

 

Written in response t0 the 100 word photo challenge posted by Rochelle Wisoff-Field each week. Find it HERE.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

66 Responses to Once upon a time

  1. Poor trolls. I never thought what effect the reading habits of today’s kids might have on them. Someone should start a “Save Our Trolls” organization. Funny story, Patrick. Well done. 😀 — Suzanne

  2. AnElephant enjoys this.
    He has a chortle or three!

  3. rgayer55 says:

    The poorly dressed Teddy bear broke my heart. I didn’t know you wrote about crimes of fashion. A great tale, Patrick.

  4. hafong says:

    I still believe in trolls, big bad wolves and witches! 🙂 I guess there is hope for me.

    Lily

  5. erinleary says:

    A fun take on the prompt. I feel for the troll and humanity.

  6. Jan Brown says:

    Great story–especially the last line 😀

  7. i b arora says:

    i like the last two sentences, hard hitting

  8. A perfect phrase for this story: “goat-free winter.” Unique take on the prompt. I like it!

  9. Margaret says:

    Poor troll. It really is the winter of his discontent. And in the year of the goat, no less. A wonderful flight of fancy.

  10. Hah! This made me laugh with its ‘goat-free winter’ and the last two lines. Oh how I weep for trolls. (BTW I think the ‘of’ after ‘ward’ should be ‘off’)

    • We will overcome.
      (I’ve fixed the error – having missed it so many times reading the piece through!! Thanks for pointing it out – I have unkind friends and family.)

  11. What a delightful piece and now I have a great deal of sympathy for trolls and will try to read more stories about them – and goats. Gotta’ get the goats back.

  12. Poor troll. Giggles for “goat-free winter.” Nice bit of fun with just the right touch of sad-but-true for seasoning.

  13. Amy Reese says:

    Oh, poor little helpless troll. I think I know that Teddy Bear. I wasn’t aware of his accent, however. Ha ha. I agree kids are on those devices way too much! Great take on the prompt. Made me laugh.

  14. Oh, poor trolls! I do believe!!

  15. gahlearner says:

    And the goats rejoice. Poor trolls. Great tale, I loved it.

  16. Ah, the poor troll. Great take on the prompt 🙂

  17. dmmacilroy says:

    Dear Patrick,

    Applause for your lament of the troll. It was a well put together piece of writing that had me laughing and simultaneously buying into your premise. I particularly enjoyed the use of the term ‘goat-free’. Brilliant.

    Aloha,

    Doug

  18. Dear Patrick,

    I enjoyed your story from cover to cover. Clever and not so subtle social commentary.

    Shalom,

    Rochelle

  19. I have a penchant for silly fairy tales. Thank you for the insight. I shall keep the trolls alive.

  20. This is the truth! Those computer games are turning their minds into mush. Poor trolls I’m afraid are going to starve or freeze to death. Their likes aren’t much needed anymore.

  21. Fun. Glad to see you are getting into fairytales etc – start with nursery rhymes.

  22. Well I’ve never felt sorry for a troll before, so kudos for that!!
    Very well done, I thoroughly enjoyed this one 🙂

  23. karen rawson says:

    Poor troll! What an ingenious take on the prompt.

  24. Bravo!! I heartily concur and love the way you spun your tale of so very real woe. This is also a story of murder, the foulest sort.

    janet

  25. Poor trolls, hiding beneath the bridges with their little tablets, surfing the internet. My heart is broken.
    What an amazing story, so original and heartfelt. Loved it!

  26. storydivamg says:

    Dear Patrick,
    It’s great to read someone so original in these halls! Nice work. I often consider the hazards of disbelief. There is something to it–even non-Newtonian physics is beginning to show us this. Poor trolls. You make me want to drive over that bridge with a cart load of baby goats (a few would most definitely “fall off the cart”).
    All my best,
    Marie Gail

  27. Poor trolls I must say.. they deserve to be feared.

  28. Sandra says:

    Well, you almost made me begin to feel sorry for the poor trolls. It’s no wonder they turned to the internet for entertainment… 😉 Nice take on the prompt.

  29. I love this Patrick. Really original, it made me smile.

I'd love to read what you think ...

