We Will Overcome

Image copyright: Dawn Q. Landau

Image copyright: Dawn Q. Landau

It meant getting up at least an hour earlier but it had to be done. Sometimes the only way to get organisations to respect the rights of their customers is to resort to collective action and this is no less true when it comes to rattling the cages of the people who own and manage the train companies.

This morning some 800 commuters made the statement and boycotted the ride to the centre, choosing to walk the two miles to their offices. Maybe the latte will no longer be served cold from now on.

Rosa Parks would be so proud.

 

This for Rochelle Wisoff-Fields’ highly addictive weekly 100 word challenge. Risk it and find it here.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

60 Responses to We Will Overcome

  1. Margaret says:

    I love the twist at the end. I’d walk for weak coffee, but cold coffee I can handle. Clever story.

  2. erinleary says:

    One has to stand up for the right things. Priorities and all. Nicely done.

  3. i b arora says:

    we are served poorly for we are reluctant to protest

  4. First world problem but latte fun to read.

  5. Just hopping around to read a few entries. I’m a newbie.
    Interesting approach … I like it and enjoyed reading. Thank you.

  6. dmmacilroy says:

    Dear Patrick,

    Latte laughter after reading this.

    Aloha,

    Doug

  7. Nothing stronger than collective action but had to laugh when it turned out to be over cold railway lattes. I think I would have just boycotted the coffee and got to town in time to buy a hot one.

  8. Ellespeth says:

    I wonder if they were drinking hot coffee on their protest walk? The Latte Protest – takes all kinds.
    Ellespeth

  9. I was first thinking like…the protest is probably for increase in price of ticket! 🙂 Good one!

  10. draliman says:

    Sometimes that’s the only way to get people to take notice. And there could be no better cause than cold coffee!

  11. rgayer55 says:

    We here at FFF Railroad wish to inform you that our lattes are not served cold, only tepid. This is a result of a recent lawsuit wherein the plaintiff was awarded a large sum of money after claiming to be scalded by a hot latte. We have installed a microwave in the dining car for customer convenience. We do hope that you’ll ride with us again.

  12. I love lattes but it would take more than hope for a warm latte to give up my seat on the bus. 🙂

  13. Sounds like what I call “Loretta Young Politics.” Once when I was at a peace march in DC years ago, I asked a fellow marcher who was speaking at a distance far away. He said “Loretta Young,” an actor primarily of the 40’s and 50’s. It was in fact “Coretta Scott King.” Like so many of us, he was there to primarily to have fun. I’ve called it “Loretta Young Politics” ever since. You’ve captured it.

    • It would have been interesting to have heard her speak. It’s good to march for meaningful causes. Often does no good, but hey, you’ve got to keep doing it.

  14. Nan Falkner says:

    Dear Patrick, Your story brings to mind the silliness of some political movements! This was good! I wouldn’t want to drink cold coffee – but at $5 a cold cup – I still wouldn’t want to walk two miles on the tracks. Good story! Nan 🙂

  15. gahlearner says:

    The things people do for good coffee… As all your other reviewers, I had a good laugh at the ordeal of these poor commuters. At least they took the dog along for the walk.

  16. Liz Young says:

    They did all that for cold coffee? I thought at least the fares had doubled!

  17. Jan Brown says:

    It’s always heartening to see consumers stand up for the really important issues 🙂

    Nice story!

  18. karen rawson says:

    Roared with laughter. Well done!

  19. If only we could get people riled about other things slightly more important. lol

  20. Modern times, protesting about really important things. I like the satire in here.

  21. storydivamg says:

    Oh dear! All that over cold coffee? It seems to me that 800 commuters might need to take a close look at their priorities.

    Good final line.

    All my best,
    Marie Gail

  22. Ha, I actually laughed out loud. Though when you pay $5 for a coffee, the least they could do is serve it hot!!

    Great story!

  23. Oh, my. This caught me off guard. Can’t imagine many people walking two miles for anything, let alone cold coffee! Fantastic.

  24. I really like the long poli-speak of the second sentence. Inspired! You should be a speechwriter. 😉

  25. Sandra says:

    Great one! Terrific twist

  26. Patrick, it’s wonderful that showed that everyone has their breaking point and that they’d reached theirs. 🙂 Seriously good humor.

    janet

  27. Hah! And I thought it was going to be something worth protesting about! Nice idea.

  28. Ha.. sounds like a very much middleclass approach to the serious part of life.. Cold coffee (and two miles, what an ordeal).

  29. They really take their coffee seriously!

  30. Dear Patrick,

    Sometimes a situation requires drastic measures. Your last line nearly had me spurting my own hot coffee out my nose. Love it.

    Shalom,

    Rochelle

I'd love to read what you think ...

