Pathways

Image copyright: Melanie Greenwood

Image copyright: Melanie Greenwood

He watched the kids finding their way through the maze. How do they do it? All those pathways, turns to the left, turns to the right, dead ends. The youngsters managed easily enough. He tried to visualize the route, following the paths with his eyes, but with no success; he always ended up back at the start.

He never was much good at puzzles, even as a child; absolutely no aptitude for problem solving.

He sighed and returned to the surgery.

“Time to gown up, sir,” said the nurse.

“Thanks,” he said, “Nothing like brain surgery to help one relax.”

 

This for Rochelle Wishoff-Fields’ weekly 100 word challenge.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

57 Responses to Pathways

  1. AnnIsikArts says:

    Yes, I believe – knowing something of it – that brain surgery would need a level of concentration beyond the norm. As far as your character is concerned, I say, “Thank goodness for computers.”

  2. Ellespeth says:

    Just goes to show you that medicine isn’t an exact science. My brain’s pathways would be relatively easy to follow – all paths lead to champagne.
    Enjoyed this one Patrick.
    Ellespeth

  3. rgayer55 says:

    I could see a Mel Brooks movie coming out of this one. If medicine doesn’t work out, he can always become a rocket scientist. Outstanding job, Patrick. You killed me with this one.

  4. Just to be clear …. Neurosurgery isn’t really relaxing for the patient or the surgeon but I like the sudden turn of events.

  5. afairymind says:

    Eek! I wouldn’t want him for my brain surgeon! Great story. 🙂

  6. kirsten says:

    Nice twist at the end. The scary part is that our brains kind of look like a maze…sooo!

  7. plaridel says:

    time to go in style. perhaps a gps will help?

  8. adamjasonp says:

    Yeah, Ouch. Don’t want to be his patient. 🙂

  9. Yowza! What a story! Great twist at the end 🙂

  10. Honie Briggs says:

    Well that’s scary.

  11. Margaret says:

    Maybe he’s an instinctive operator – doing what feels right once he’s inside a brain. Ouch.

  12. Great fun! I think I’d rather turn over my brains to a zombie at this point…

  13. Brilliant, just because we are less apt in one area does not mean we’re not brilliant in another.

  14. I think he was just joking…. wasn’t he? 😀

  15. storydivamg says:

    Oy! I also find this a bit troubling. Not sure I want to see a brain surgeon without an aptitude for problem-solving. Let’s hope this isn’t exploratory surgery. Fun stuff this week, Patrick!

    Cheers!
    MG

  16. haha.. Good one here. The last line was amazing 😉

  17. Dee says:

    Hope someone draws him a diagram…Nice one Patrick, great ending. Dee

  18. I hope he’s better at his job!

  19. Nothing like brain surgery to help one relax This line is a bit creepy. Well done.

  20. Oh my, you really got me there! Excellent story. 😀

  21. Oh I wonder if I want a brain-surgeon how work solving problems or one who strictly adhere to rules.. maybe he’s an excellent brain-surgeon..
    Think creative brain surgeon and I get really scared.
    🙂

  22. I wanted to comment with something about “rocket surgery” and “a-maze-ing.” But my conscience won’t let me. 😉 Great story. I like it!

  23. Haha a surgeon who can’t problem solve… stay away from my brain thanks!

  24. Sandra says:

    Instills confidence, doesn’t it? Nice one

  25. Dear Patrick,

    I question whether I would want him as my brain surgeon or not. I do believe this is one of your best, full of twists and turns and a great ending.

    Shalom,

    Rochelle

  26. Vinay Leo R. says:

    Oh I agree with Elaine. That’s a worrying ending. Hopefully it’s not his first puzzle in the OT.

I'd love to read what you think ...

