Breakfast Included

Image copyright: Jan Wayne Fields

Image copyright: Jan Wayne Fields

Like most people, they booked on-line. They said they were a party of Goths. No problem, I said to Letitia, our receptionist, we take anyone who can afford our room rates – punks, gays, trannies, people-of-colour. Gypsies, even.

“God, we’re so liberal it hurts,” I said. Letitia just smiled.

“Any special requests?” she asked.

“Nah,” I said, “But get some salads and humous in. And maybe some tofu. You never know.”

So it was a big surprise when a band of rough and rather smelly horsemen arrived demanding undercooked mutton with wine.

“Got caught in a time warp,” explained the leader.

 

Prompted by Rochelle-Wishoff Fields’ weekly 100 word challenge.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

53 Responses to Breakfast Included

  1. Dee says:

    Oh, I loved this. Well done Patrick 🙂

  2. Nan Falkner says:

    Dear Patrick, great story and time travel would be interesting – and, asking their kids how to order on line was brilliant! You are very interesting! Nan 🙂

  3. Sarah Ann says:

    It never pays to make assumptions. Beautifully told.

  4. The Guardian says:

    Letitia.. it’s a funny name!

  5. Margaret says:

    Those timewarps can play havoc with forward planning. I hope no Romans get caught up in the same one – could get messy. Fun story.

  6. Oh I love this.. gave me a smile this dreary day.

  7. I needed this dose of silliness. Thanks much! Liked the (inadvertent?) word-play of humous. Dirty Goths!

  8. Ha! That is fantastic! Really enjoyed the twist at the end 🙂

  9. emmylgant says:

    That was great! Loved the last line but the humour woven into the story is very enjoyable as well.

  10. Very funny, tnx for making me laugh.

  11. Thanks for making me smile this morning. Time travel transmogrification can be a real drag. (I just wanted to use the word transmogrification. 🙂 )

  12. draliman says:

    Ha, brilliant! Made me smile this chilly morning.
    They’d better get the mutton in, I’m thinking hummus and tofu isn’t going to cut it 🙂

  13. dmmacilroy says:

    Dear Patrick,

    When we finally do master the ins and outs of time travel, this will be a common occurrence and will likely challenge the larders of all hotels. A Lovely tale for travelers and innkeepers. (And us:) Well done.

    Aloha,

    Doug

  14. Did you tell them there was a sacking Rome special?

  15. Dear Patrick,

    What I want to know is how these Goths, caught in a time warp, knew how to order online. Cute story.

    Shalom,

    Rochelle

  16. BrainRants says:

    At least they didn’t get Huns or Mongols.

  17. Honie Briggs says:

    What’s in a name, or label, really? Very funny, Patrick.

  18. Unexpected end. Good job.

  19. Sandra says:

    I hope she had some undercooked mutton in the freezer. Goths – picky or what? Very funny, Patrick.

  20. plaridel says:

    interesting that they were able to book online. hopefully, they can accommodate them as well as any other guests.

  21. Very funny! Especially the part about the liberals. (haha! Just kidding). 😀

  22. storydivamg says:

    Dear Patrick,
    I love where you went with this. Those Visigoths can be so demanding! Great story.

    All my best,
    Marie Gail

  23. Thanks, Patrick. I’m still laughing.

    janet

  24. penshift says:

    That’s just a brilliant twist.

  25. Hah! Liked this. Do the other sort of goths really eat tofu and humous I wonder?

I'd love to read what you think ...

