2015 – let the year begin

Outside the kitchen window
a trespassing cat
behaves nervously.
A dog fox,
large, healthy, and red,
trots past.
Aloof. Athletic.
Hurdler, it clears the garden fence.
The world stands still.
Behind me, the porridge
boils over.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to 2015 – let the year begin

  1. MythRider says:

    More than once, I too have stopped to enjoy nature. Ah, beautiful ;0)

  2. AnnIsikArts says:

    You create a character in a single – almost still (except for the porridge!) image. It’s like a snapshot. And there’s atmosphere. You could just use every second line and it would still make sense, if you fuse the last two. You’re leaving poetry to ‘the poets’? 🙂

  3. mjlstories says:

    Ah fox watching. I like it – your poem that is.
    Not sure about the ‘I watch it all’ line. I think we know you’re watching. (I do like the porridge.)

    Perhaps you could a) cut it out altogether; b) pinch a line from DH Lawrence that goes something like ‘And I in my pyjamas as the…’;c) write a line that let’s us see inside your soul or, d) shout very loudly ‘Hands off my poem!’
    Just a few suggestions…
    MJ

  4. Sheila says:

    Very descriptive. Enjoyed.

  5. Miranda Alcock says:

    I just love this. 2015 is the year of the poet. Max

    Sent from my iPad

    >

  6. Happy new year to all! Start as you mean to go on – by cleaning up the cooker!
    I really like this, but would have liked ‘Aloof. Athletic.’ as well as ‘Hurdler’ (or instead of).

I'd love to read what you think ...

