Shopping Centre Economics: A Case Study

Image copyright: Rochelle Wisoff-Fields

The centre manager watched as the consumers scurried from shop to shop gathering more and more bags embellished with the names of luxury brands. In his mind’s ear he could hear the kerching kerching of the cash registers. He was happy.

He saw that the shopkeepers too were happy, that sales were up, profits were up.

Time to increase rentals, he thought.

Kerching.

Later he watched as the army of part-time, zero-hours-contract cleaners arrived, scurrying to the cupboards to collect brooms, mops, and buckets.

He saw that everyone turned up for work.

Time to reduce wages, he thought.

Kerching.

Kerching.

 

Written in response to Rochelle Wisoff-Fields’s weekly 100 word photo-prompt challenge.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

35 Responses to Shopping Centre Economics: A Case Study

  1. Nan Falkner says:

    Dear Patrick, Very clever story! Capitalism at it’s worst but I know that is what happens. It just sounds so callous! Good job! Nan 🙂

  2. Patrick, I love it when the term “right to hire” is used. It often means “right to fire”. No wonder there’s no job loyalty these days. It often amounts to low wages and little or no benefits. Temps are hired to get around giving benefits. Well written. 🙂 — Susan

  3. Amy Reese says:

    Well told, sad state of affairs, Patrick. It seems people with the most, can be the least generous. Here, we see why. It’s all about the bottom line. Money.

  4. Sarah Ann says:

    Where’s the fiction in this? 🙂 Succinctly done, and slightly misery-inducing.

  5. Margaret says:

    That’s exactly what happens, but they disguise it all in corporate world double-speak. Your story hits the nail on the head by saying it like it is. Bravo.

  6. A sad commentary, but oh so true. Well crafted.

  7. storydivamg says:

    Patrick,
    “Time to reduce wages.” What a sad, sad way to think. This is a timely story indeed. I’m currently launching my own business, and I’ve determined already that I’ll never bring someone on at an unfair salary, even if it means I have to tighten my own belt. We’re all in this thing called “life” together. It’s time to actively bridge that gap between the “haves” and the “have nots.”

    All my best,
    Marie Gail

    • It’s a tough world for some.
      Good luck with your own business. Done, it; been there. My advice: watch the cash flow.

      • storydivamg says:

        Good advice. I consulted an accountant before I even opened the business bank account. And my spouse and I are budgeting 50% of all earnings in the coming year to go to the business bank account. I’m not touching any of it until we build up some capital. Most businesses go under because of mismanaged funds combined with a lack of planning.

  8. rgayer55 says:

    The almighty dollar and the pursuit of greed and power. You can’t get more American (especially in Hollywood) than that.

  9. Dear Patrick,

    Business is business. Sounds like current corporate America. And at that I’ll say, great little story. Kerching!

    Shalom,

    Rochelle

  10. dmmacilroy says:

    Dear Patrick,

    ‘Murica! Capital of Kerching.

    A great story and a sad story. Well done.

    Aloha,

    Doug

  11. Kerching! Kerching! Kerching! Kerching! Yep, those are the wheels of our economy. Wish they were the wheels of my bank account!

  12. Unfortunately too true too many places. Well done story.

    janet

  13. Fabulous. One of the best you’ve written in my opinion.

  14. I think you have pinpointed the way of market economy..

  15. Sandra says:

    I liked the style of this. The sentiment less so, but that’s how business is done these days. Nice one Patrick.

  16. Cynical, but so true! (Maybe ‘zero-hours-contract’? I had one of those once!!

I'd love to read what you think ...

