The Lake at Twilight

Bruce squinted into the middle distance as night took over from day. Good vs evil, or evil vs good? Even after all these years he couldn’t be sure. He mock-saluted the colony of yuma myotis emerging from the cave to hunt over the Manor’s artificial lake; called out, “Even with your help, I never did finish the job.”

He thought he saw movement on the island. “Looks like a penguin. Just like a penguin. Holy mirage, can’t be.”

He shivered in the night chill, pulled the blanket tighter around his knees, sat up straighter in the batchair. Called for Alfred.

This in response to the 100 word challenge set by Rochelle Wisoff-Fields.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

39 Responses to The Lake at Twilight

  1. dmmacilroy says:

    Dear Patrick,

    This was inspired writing. Hook line and sinker, I was pulled into the lake. Really fine work, sir.

    Aloha,

    Doug

  2. Nan Falkner says:

    Dear Patrick, I was going to say Holy Gotham, but Rochelle beat me to it! Really fun take on the prompt – I enjoyed it so much. By the way, where is the Joker? Nan 🙂

  3. Sarah Ann says:

    I’ve come over all sad. I don’t want to imagine Bruce with a blanket over his knees losing his sight and maybe his marbles. Well done for putting me there.

  4. Love this! So much fun, Patrick. 🙂 LHN

  5. wildbilbo says:

    Ok, the batman twist at the end caught me by surprise. Is it a real penguin, is Alfred still alive, or Bruce suffering from old-age dementia/paranoia? Nice twist.

  6. Patrick, A batchair! If Bruce is old, Alfred must be ancient. I can see the poor old guy hobbling out to serve. Looks like Bruce’s old enemies are coming back to haunt him. Humorous and well written. 🙂 — Susan

  7. Ha! It took me until batchair lol. Hilarious!

  8. I refuse to believe Batman could grow old. Maybe he is just tired. I adore comics, so your story was bound to be hit with me. Good work.

  9. draliman says:

    Holy batchair! If he’s gotten that old I wonder how much help Alfred will be 🙂 Of course, The Penguin is probably not what he once was either.

  10. Must confess I’m not a Batman fan or aficionado, so I had to read the comments before I got your story. But after that I realized what a great job you did.

    janet

    • Thanks. Someday I’ll write about horses! It’ll need some researching though. (Although I once in my youth spent a couple of weeks at a place near Toronto which trained horses for the Toronto Mounted Police; huge brutes – I was mucking out etc. I was terrified.)

  11. Maree Gallop says:

    “Holy mirage” loved that. Cleverly crafted story.

  12. Clever story. I enjoyed it.

  13. Ah, the voice of the wingman 🙂 very clever.

  14. This story made me very, very cold. Good job!

  15. Interesting take on the prompt! I wondered where it was going at first, then Aha! Well done.

  16. Comedic and thoughtful. Good job.

  17. Dear Patrick,

    Holy Gotham, I enjoyed your story. One never thinks of Bruce Wayne aging and wondering if he squandered his life. Inventive. Clever.

    shalom,

    Rochelle

  18. Sandra says:

    A unique take on the prompt, Patrick. 🙂

  19. Margaret says:

    Don’t let him retire -.we need him now more than ever. Love the musings about good and evil. Love the whole thing.
    Marg

I'd love to read what you think ...

