Life after Death

sf 10 Oct

Jennifer is dead. I know because I killed her last night, after all the guests had left, after I found her kissing next door neighbour, Zelda.

And I suspect I know where her body is, although I can’t be one hundred percent certain. People were drinking a lot and using all sorts of pills and powders to help them get high or stay high or stay sane, not easy in this city of ours, and I wasn’t of a mind to hold back. So I can’t be absolutely sure about anything apart from the fact that most of the action was around the pool – and in the case of Jennifer and Zelda, in the pool.

It shouldn’t really be bothering me, a body in the pool; my main concern should be getting my head straight – I have a meeting with my agent just after five – but the cleaner will be arriving soon and he will be checking the ph, cleaning the filter and doing whatever pool people do. A body may just spook him.

I’ll miss Jennifer – she was okay and she taught me how to swim. But I’ll cope. No doubt Zelda will be around to offer me comfort.

 

Written in response to Sunday Photo Fiction’s 200 word challenge.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Life after Death

  1. Ally says:

    twisty, and nicely written

    Enjoyed

    Ally 🙂

  2. julespaige says:

    I agree with Al. That twist will work only if you character doesn’t get caught.

    I enjoyed your mini thriller!

  3. Al says:

    Ooooh that was a twist I didn’t expect. Great story 🙂

I'd love to read what you think ...

