Restaurant Review

I said, “What’s this?”

The waiter looked at the plate, looked at me, “Your strawberry foule, sir.”

I said, “I see no strawberry, I see no foule.”

He said, “You’re not from these parts are you? From out of town?”

There was a sneer in his voice I didn’t care for. He had a slight Spanish accent. I hate the Spanish.

I said, “I didn’t invite a conversation, Pancho; I asked you what’s this on my plate?”

“Cool it, Pops,” he said. “You ordered strawberry foule. This is it. It’s nouveau cuisine. Chef’s from Marseilles.”

I hate the French!

 

This was written in response to this week’s bloody difficult Friday Fiction 100 word challenge.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

32 Responses to Restaurant Review

  1. MissTiffany says:

    Perhaps he should try less exotic restaurants. Funny story!

  2. Nan Falkner says:

    Good job Patrick! You are funny and I don’t see a strawberry on the plate either. Excellent! Nan 🙂

  3. Sarah Ann says:

    One man’s foule is another man’s foul perhaps. I think perhaps you diner needs to pick a less upmarket restaurant next time. Great voices these two have – I can see the stand-off between them escalating.

  4. Sandra says:

    I hate picky eaters… Nice one Patrick.

  5. Amy Reese says:

    How funny, Patrick! I love this take. I would send it back, too. I tend to avoid those restaurants where the servings are extremely small and I leave hungry. Great story.

  6. So fun. Probably would have hated the Norwegians if they had anything to do with dinner. Perfect story. Well done.

  7. I enjoyed that, bigotry included. A nice plate of xenophobia, topped off with a healthy drizzle of hate.

  8. MythRider says:

    Cute.
    Poor guy has trouble with the world around him. Hope things get better for him.

  9. So easy to hate especially anything strawberry sans strawberry… Maybe it’s better to give up on that eatery…

  10. Dear Patrick,

    How quickly we descend from politeness to brandished AK-47s. I hate nouveau cuisine. I love this story. I once received a ‘rack’ of lamb at a hoity-toity restaurant. Four shriveled little things that looked no bigger than maple seeds and a fancy garnish of some sort. I had the same sort of conversation with the waiter.

    Aloha,

    Doug

  11. Querido Patrick,

    Can you say ‘bigot?’ Appetizing story. Great flavor. I enjoyed it very much.

    Shalom,

    Rochelle

  12. You’ve got me laughing. And at this time in the morning that’s no mean feat! (Still laughing!)

  13. equal opportunity ethnic cuisine hater…. can get help if desires it.

  14. plaridel says:

    i don’t think he’s going back there.

I'd love to read what you think ...

