Qg5xg3+

NY4

Some people think we’re all prisoners of some sort, dupes, bound up by our own internal and society’s morals and mores, restrained by rules and regulations, superstitions and religions.

Others say that we are all pawns being pushed, pulled, twirled and tweaked by some omnipotent gamers in the sky, that our every move is governed by the roll of dice, by the twenty one black spots on the cube of fate.

It’s all bollocks. Me, I don’t believe in any of that. It’s all about free will.

Apart from my concern to never step on the cracks between paving stones.

 

This was written in response to  Friday Fictioneers’ weekly 100 word challenge. Click on the link and share some ink.

 

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

64 Responses to Qg5xg3+

  1. Nan Falkner says:

    Dear Patrick, Funny story and If you listened and obeyed every superstition, you wouldn’t be able to go outside and if you do, take an unbreakable sale shaker. Really well done! Nan 🙂

  2. rgayer55 says:

    I wondered why my back had been killing me. And to think of the suffering your poor Mother has had to live with. Step away from the cracks, Patrick. I won’t be throwing away my rabbit’s foot any time soon.

  3. wmqcolby says:

    Hahaha! And let’s not forget the salt in the shaker, too. Nice, Patrick!

  4. Elizabeth says:

    Hi Patrick, he really can’t miss those cracks! Great story!

  5. margirene says:

    Hedging your bets? I think many of us operate like that. I liked it. Marg

  6. AnnIsikArts says:

    A great take on the prompt and on human nature. 🙂

  7. And those cracks are sometimes hard to miss. Me I’ll take religion…fewer things to watch out for! 😉

  8. it’s all free will until bad things happen.
    then it’s your fault.
    😉
    Nice soliloquy. Randy

  9. Nice and light hearted Patrick. Good chuckle material.

  10. mscwhite says:

    Great story!

  11. Great subtle piece about the importance of freedom only to have freedom denied by one’s own personal nature. It works on many levels. Great piece, Patrick!

  12. The eternal question: Free will or Determinism?
    Great story, Patrick!

  13. camgal says:

    Haha superstitious prison eh? nice piece

  14. Love the chess move title! I actually came very close to doing something like this as well. 🙂

  15. Step on a crack… I’m so superstitious! It’s interesting how we all see life in different shades of the palette.

  16. Great last line – completely changed the feel of the piece. Good job.

  17. And those are some BIG cracks to miss. I love how your words “twirl” throughout the piece and then come down to that crazy little superstition. Well done.

  18. paulmclem says:

    Nice work. I too thought of chess 🙂

  19. liz young says:

    “Whenever you walk down a London Street . . .” Christopher Robin was part of my childhood and I watched my step for years!

  20. Patrick, I like where you took the old jingle. Most who mock others’ superstitions have some of their own.

    janet

  21. Awash…this made me giggle.

  22. “It’s all bollocks” unless it’s our own wee superstition. I know a few people like that – not that I’m one myself. I avoid pavements altogether. Just in case …..

  23. Yes, we are free…until we discover we are not. Sadly, some of us never discover that…Or maybe they are the lucky ones. See what you’ve done, made me think and that is never a good thing. 😀 Nice story.

  24. Patrick, That’s okay unless there’s a crack in the street and you get hit by a speeding car while watching for it. 😀 Funny and well written piece. 🙂 —Susan

  25. dmmacilroy says:

    Dear Patrick,

    Great story. You and Sandra must have had heard that old saying more than once as children. First thing that sprang to your minds. Cool synergy.

    Aloha,

    Ddoug

  26. Oh yes. Never step on the cracks.. you can end up in a crack house.

  27. We are all just pawns in the game of life..dammit I thought so..any chance of communicating to my player to be a little more gentle with me? Great story, glad I stopped by.

  28. Sandra says:

    The prompt brought similar reactions from us both. Nice one Patrick.

  29. Dear Patrick,

    I’m so glad he’s not driven my mores or superstition. Oops, watch out for the cra–!

    Well done. 😉

    Shalom,

    Rochele

I'd love to read what you think ...

