Smoke and Mirrors

They turned up in their hundreds for the Fantasy Auction of the Year on West Sunset Boulevard last Sunday. That was the opportunity to buy a bona fide piece of fictional and fantastical memorabilia that you could hang on the wall or plant in your garden; put it anywhere in fact as long as the neighbours could see it and suffer pangs of envy.

One Lewis Carol fan managed to secure Alice’s original Looking Glass but was outbid for the Rabbit Hole.

The sale was no scam, said the organisers from an unknown location.

Mr Plod is leading the investigation.

This for Friday Fictioneers 100 word challenge.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

42 Responses to Smoke and Mirrors

  1. Patrick, Hilarious. 😀 I think I’d have an investigation too if someone was selling a hole in the ground. Of course, some people will buy anything. Well written. 🙂 —Susan

  2. fictional and fantastical memorabilia – love this line. What a great take on the prompt.

  3. Sun says:

    how exciting a Fantasy Auction would be…amazing finds at ordinary auctions, so one can only imagine the fun in your location. 🙂

  4. Sandra says:

    A different take on the prompt for sure.

  5. Amy Reese says:

    Very clever, Patrick. I would be envious if someone had Alice’s original Looking Glass. Indeed.

  6. Ha! Very clever, Not idiotic at all 😉

  7. Patrick, how original and enjoyable. I’ll be right back after I get myself out of this rabbit hole!!

    janet

  8. Ha.. How about the original deck of card (sans the queen of heart)?

  9. Nan Falkner says:

    Dear Patrick, you are so clever and I love it – a sale to end all sales – glamorous for sure! Well done! Nan 🙂

  10. I have a strange little bottle labeled “Drink Me” that I would be willing to sell … for the right price. 😛

  11. Sarah Ann says:

    With Mr Plod on the case, it’ll all be ironed out soon. Wonderful take.

  12. I’d go to that auction, although I doubt I could afford anything. I’d put my money on the wardrobe to Narnia. 🙂

  13. yarnspinnerr says:

    Loved your take.

  14. I would place a bid on the looking glass! What an imagination….

  15. rgayer55 says:

    Too bad I missed that auction. There’s a big empty space in the backyard that would have been perfect for the rabbit hole.

  16. Dear Patrick,

    Wouldn’t we all like to get our hands on the original looking glass? Funny and imaginative. Nohow and contrariwise. (I was Tweedledee in a high school production 😉 )

    shalom,

    Rochelle

    • Thanks.
      Missed posting last week’s in time; really difficult prompt.
      Methinks your high school casting director had vision problems?

      • Actually, the other girl and I got the parts because we were short. Fat was provided by our costumes which were big metal hoops sewn into the midsection. It was quite effective visually when we hugged and our “tummies” went to the back.

  17. Hester Miranda Alcock says:

    You are such an idiot!

    Sent from my iPhone

    >

I'd love to read what you think ...

