Room 127

The journey had been grim – holiday traffic and out-of-date satnav software. By the time we arrived, we both doubted whether this week-end would salvage the marriage.

The hotel was unpromising. Too many stairs and no view of the sea.

After a poor dinner, Dave went up ahead of me. He had the sulks over something.

The barman said, “Room 127. It’s on your floor. Have a look.”

I did. Inside was the beach and far out was the sea. Low tide. People sunbathing, covered in oil. Children playing cricket and flying kites. A man selling ice cream. A distant red sail.

I stepped inside. Closed the door. Walked on the sand.

For a while I sat in one of the deck chairs on the pier enjoying the sun on my back and watching the world go by. That was until Sven, the bronzed young lifesaver, came by.

“I’m off duty now. Let’s get something to drink,” he said.

I was worried that our difference in age would bother him, but if it does, he hasn’t once shown it over the last ten years.

As for Dave, well, I’m not sure what world he frequents and actually rarely give him a thought.

 

Written for Sunday Photo Fiction 200 word challenge.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Room 127

  1. julespaige says:

    Oh, to have a room 127 at our fingertips…
    Fun.

    Thanks for stopping by Sonja’s place.

  2. There are days I would love to have a Room 127 down the hall. Thoroughly enjoyed!

  3. Ally says:

    This is right up my street! So imaginative, I like a lot!

    Ally 🙂

  4. Pat says:

    *snort* — This is hilarious. I know, the men are probably sulking (okay, I can’t speak for any of them) – but this is just awesome.

    Great creative use of the photo prompt!

  5. Steve Lakey says:

    Great imagination! That room seems well worth a visit!

  6. Al says:

    That is a dream hotel to visit. Just go through a door and be somewhere else. You’d never want to come back.

I'd love to read what you think ...

