Soul Doctor

“I’m feeling down, doc, and feeling blue. I need help.”

“Hmmmm. Your hands are shaking, knees are weak, can’t seem to stand on your own two feet. Mojo absent.”

“It’s bad isn’t it, doctor? Tell me straight.”

“It’s bad, but there’s a fix.”

“A fix?”

“You’ll have to take a journey.”

“A journey? Switzerland? Dignitas?”

“No, the Pilgrimage.”

“The Pilgrimage? France? Lourdes?”

“Nope. To the Source.”

“The Source?”

“The Source. Memphis. Memphis, Tennessee.”

“Memphis, Tennessee? The cradle of civilization? Where it all began?”

“Yep. And not by bus. No time to lose. Fly. Return ticket. Leave the wheelchair there.”

This for Friday Fictioneers’ 100 word challenge.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

30 Responses to Soul Doctor

  1. julespaige says:

    Soul doctor indeed. I bet Ol’ Elvis himself is going to play guardian angel to that flight!

    I added to the vampire story after reading Al’s addition. Cheers.

  2. hafong says:

    I was waiting for Elvis to show up. Thanks for the laugh. 🙂

    Lily

  3. Um, totally wrong direction for me, but as soon as you said “The source” and “Pilgrimage”, the Matrix popped into my head and refused to go away. Good story and well told however

  4. I need a cure somewhere tropical sign me up for that doc!

  5. Sarah Ann says:

    Great re-weaving of lyrics and great voices. Thanks for the smile.

  6. Partrick, That’s a first for me. NHS (if it stands for National Health Service) seems to rock with free stuff. Do they know about this doctor who’s giving away trips in their name? Have they checked their budget lately? Funny and well-written story. 🙂 —Susan

  7. Nan Falkner says:

    Dear Patrick, Good story and it would be nice if the cure was a trip to Memphis and you had to fly! Awesome doctor! Nan 🙂

  8. Nothing beats like Memphis

  9. Sun says:

    i wonder where this soul doctor got his degree from… 🙂 i like the way the patient hopes the pilgrimage is located in some exotic place… ha-ha.

  10. Very fun. I want a doctor to tell me one day that “the cure” is in Memphis, Tennessee.

  11. rgayer55 says:

    We’re going to Graceland, Graceland, Memphis Tennessee. Now, I’ll be singing Paul Simon all afternoon, but that’s OK. He’s one of my favorites.

  12. dmmacilroy says:

    Dear Patrick,

    Shlomo would be proud. Great story. Especially Memphis as the cradle of humanity.

    Aloha,

    Doug

  13. Dear Patrick,

    “Long distance information, get in touch with my Marie, she’s the only one who’d call me here from Memphis, Tennessee….” I wonder if he’ll encounter Johnny Rivers while he’s there.

    Fun story.

    shalom,

    Rochelle

  14. Hester Miranda Alcock says:

    Early morning chuckle!

    Sent from my iPhone

    >

  15. Sandra says:

    I can never read ‘Memphis’ without hearing it in my head as ‘Mumphis’. Something to do with that ageless woman with long black hair. You brought it all back, Patrick.

I'd love to read what you think ...

