Blessed is he who expects nothing

That’s a damn silly name for a priest said the bishop, but Fr Goat argued it would get him down with the kidz, saving soulz and all that.

Anyway, Fr Goat made a pretty good fist of it and scored way more than the others when it came to poverty and chastity. His cavalier approach to obedience endeared him to most of the judges although some in the church hierarchy down-graded him in this category.

When asked whether he would be moving out of his squat now he was winner of this year’s Saint Factor, he answered, “The Lord will provide”.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Blessed is he who expects nothing

  1. Sarah Ann says:

    Now is he a saint or just a cocky sod? This is such a great idea – the thought of the clergy trying to out-humble each other. If only Saint Factor was a real show!

  2. I’d watch Saint Factor. 🙂 Great story.

  3. Patrick, He sounds like the people’s priest, but I’ve never heard of the Saint Factor award. That’s a new one to me. Well written. 🙂 —Susan

  4. Nan Falkner says:

    Great job Patrick! Good story and I like Fr. Goat – he’s down to earth! Nan 🙂

  5. I agree with onceuponaurora – if all priests could be so fun. (The Saint Factor part cracked me up!)

  6. Timely and hilarious Patrick, great story!

  7. Sandra says:

    Very topical – made me grin.

  8. Dear Patrick,

    Fr. Goat sounds like the people’s priest. Nice one.

    shalom,

    Rochelle

  9. Pleased you liked and ditto Fr Goat and the rest.

  10. onceuponaurora says:

    I rather like Fr. Goat. I might have remained a good Catholic rather than a fallen one had I known a priest like him!
    I’m visiting from Friday Fictioneers.

I'd love to read what you think ...

