Watching me, watching you

For Sunday Photo Fiction 200 word challenge

200 words 29 June

Naturally we all turned out to watch as the i-eye was hoisted up on its thousand meter mast.

It was the surveillance state gone mad. There was no need for this. After all, every person in and out of every building in every square inch of the land was already being watched 24/7 with all the devices duplicated in case of breakdown and with huge power generators strategically placed in every corner of the country as back-up should the central electricity system go down.

However, the boss man wanted it and the boss man gets what the boss man wants.

But from an entertainment aspect it was all great fun. Around the base of the beast, vendors had set up stands selling pop-corn, candy floss, and ice cream. All the big brands were pushing their colas, burgers and pizzas from their pop-up pavilions. Various buskers, jugglers and sword-swallowers entertained the huge crowds while the huge screens lit up with snippets from the national ballet.

As for me, I’m not fussed about all the spying stuff. I’ve got one of those anono-chips which blurs my image on the cameras.

I guess it’s tough on the plebs, but that ain’t my problem.

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Watching me, watching you

  1. Lyn says:

    Oooh, an anono-chip! Sure beats aluminium foil in your shoes 😀

  2. yarnspinnerr says:

    Great story.
    Loved the use of a-no-no. 🙂

  3. Al says:

    Brilliant. Sounds like the game Watch_Dogs 😀 I like the way you have written this

  4. I want one of those anono-chips, but I’m afraid I’m probably a pleb.
    Loved the story!

I'd love to read what you think ...

