Hubris

For Friday Fictioneers

Image copyright: Mary Shipman

Image copyright: Mary Shipman

“C’mon,” I said to the others, “Let’s move. Rip up those floorboards, open up the walls.”

I knew the painting was in there somewhere, and it certainly wasn’t hanging from a nail.

I knew that we had only three hours from curtain up at the National Theatre, three hours made up of two halves and the interval, and the twenty minute drive back home.

I know my trade. I had done my research. I’m a master. The best.

What I didn’t know was that a fire had stopped the show, and that the limo was only ten minutes away.

 

 

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

27 Responses to Hubris

  1. Sarah Ann says:

    Great voice in this. Now of course I want to know what happens when the limo arrived home 🙂

  2. Nan Falkner says:

    Oh no, a fire and no look-out to let them know that their plan is going to go bad. Good job! Nan 😉

  3. Sounds like he’s looking back at this after the event – I can’t help feeling that things worked out for him, though perhaps just in the nick of time!

  4. Patrick, All that can save them now is some kind of traffic problem. This is certainly a tense situaltion. Well written. 🙂 —Susan

  5. Dear Patrick,

    I hear the tension-filled music in the background. Good set up as I wait for someone to burst through the door.

    BTW, somehow your nice comment ended up in my spam folder. I thought I’d hit “approve” but apparently I didn’t and your comment vaporized into cyberspace. At any rate thank you. “Simple House” is still in my top ten favorites of my hundred plus since then.

    Shalom,

    Rochelle

    • Getting the days of the week wrong, convoluted spelling, comments sent to spam! Is a pattern emerging? Time to speak to someone?
      Simple House IS good.

      • Perhaps it’s a poltergeist. I’ll make an appointment. Meanwhile tohgoutha rohgotho nonthron.

        Glad you liked Simple House. Even after writing over 100 since it’s still one of my favorites.

        😉

  6. elappleby says:

    Uh oh! I have the Mission Impossible theme tune in my head now…

  7. Sprung like a floorboard. Suspenseful story, Patrick.

  8. So much hangs by what we don’t know…

  9. Ahh… even the best laid plans… have potential to fail. Good story.

  10. Even the best have their faults! I’d be too nervous for that line of work! Great build-up of tension!

  11. I guess it’s like being caught in the act (as the act was cancelled)

  12. Da, da dah! Who’s coming in the limo…?

  13. Sandra says:

    Hubris goes before a fall… 🙂

I'd love to read what you think ...

