Waiting for Angela

It was late that evening when I heard the expensive powerboats arrive at the moorings outside my bar for a night of cheap debauchery. And why shouldn’t they slum with us occasionally? After all, our men and women know what to do for those college girls and college boys. And the drink I serve is a lot cheaper than in their fancy yacht club bars.

One girl was different. I could tell from the way she looked at me and the sweet way she smiled. Her name was Angela.

Every evening I look across the water and hope. Waiting for Angela.

This for Friday Fictioneers.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

41 Responses to Waiting for Angela

  1. Sarah Ann says:

    Very sad. I think he needs to be a bit more proactive but get the feeling he’s just going to wait.

  2. Sad to say, I’ve been there more than once. Great story,

  3. Wonderful story, Patrick! I apologize for reading this so late! I’m not sure if anyone mentioned this above, but this story triggered memories of The Great Gatsby, concerning the part he would look across the water and hope! I do hope Angela finds her way across the lake to him. Your words are drenched with love and hope- absolutely magnificent!

    • Thanks. Nobody, including me, picked up on the parallel with Gatsby. Well noticed. Both stories are about class, that scourge of humanity. Time for another gin and tonic!

  4. Shandra says:

    Excellent story on so many levels. Well done. Hope you’ll stop by & leave feedback on my #FridayFictioneer post.

  5. Sometimes being on the wrong side turns out to be the better side. Sounds like people had more fun in the “other” bar. Angela’s losing out.

  6. Patrick, I heard it said once that every person has the mental picture of their perfect mate in their mind. That’s why there is what they call “love at first sight.” Unfortunately we live in a real world where what is the ideal doesn’t always fit. The girl might have been attracted to him but would have probably never fit into his world or him into hers. That would have caused serious problems. Good, interesting, and romantic story and well written. 🙂

    Susan

  7. Wow, this story was so good it crashed my browser! Really. But I’m back and ready to mention that I like that her name was so close to Angel. Reminds me of the (old) song, “Down in the Boondocks.”

    janet

  8. Sandra says:

    A nice tale of being raised on the wrong side of the tracks. Well done Patrick.

  9. Oh those barriers. some things never happen.. Angels don’t mix with people–

  10. helenmidgley says:

    We all have our own ‘Angela’, great job 🙂

  11. Amy Reese says:

    Maybe Angela is the woman of his dreams? I hope they make a connection. Nice story!

  12. plaridel says:

    as they say, brave men die once, cowards die everyday. why not ask for her number?

  13. Alice Audrey says:

    Poor guy. She was just being polite. After the third or fourth time a guy tried to such me into his world, I stopped smiling.

  14. subroto says:

    Nicely done but I think he is going to spend a long time waiting.

  15. Such a bitter sweet story! I hope he doesn’t wait too long.

  16. Dear Patrick,

    Sweet story. Hopefully he and Angela will connect.

    Shalom,

    Rochelle

  17. I love this. I think every guy is waiting for Angela in one way or another. Of course, the best thing to do is to get in that boat and go find her but somehow very few of us do.

I'd love to read what you think ...

