The History Class’s Autumn Field Trip

For Friday Fictioneers

And now we come to the last exhibits of the tour. And here I must once again ask you not to touch anything, and please, no smoking. This is, as you all know, the last remaining wooded area on Earth. It survived the nuclear wars. How? No-one seems to know. Anyway, there it is. These are trees. They are made from wood. Wood was a pre-Now material used as fuel and building material. With technical advances in the twenty-first century it became redundant and tree farms, or forests, fell out of favour.

Now, over here, these artefacts were known as ‘Books’.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

42 Responses to The History Class’s Autumn Field Trip

  1. MissTiffany says:

    Oh I hope we never come to the day when trees only exist in a museum!

  2. elmowrites says:

    This guide’s voice feels so real, but post-trees? I hope we figure out first that trees aren’t just for building materials and fuel.

  3. Sarah Ann says:

    No! That’s not allowed. Okay, I can see trees being pre-Now, but we will never, can never, be book-less/ post-books. Your stories given me the shivers, and possible nightmares. Great take from the prompt.

  4. camgal says:

    Very nice and unique take of the prompt 🙂

  5. Sun says:

    let’s hope this field trip remains as a fictional story…forever! great story.

  6. and all the poems ceased to make sense.. guess they were replaced by multimedia shows. Fortunately I would guess that forests have greater ability to survive a nuclear war than humans.

  7. Judah First says:

    Yeah, I guess no more trees, no more books. Nice job.

  8. Subroto says:

    Funny but then there is the chilling thought that some day in the distant future this could be true. Books in paper format may be finished within the next twenty years.

  9. Amy Reese says:

    Imaginative take, Patrick. I hope it never comes true. We must have books and trees. Chilling tale.

  10. Dear Patrick,

    Imaginative take on the prompt. Dark, bleak and chilling.

    Shalom,

    Rochelle

  11. Bryan Ens says:

    really hope that’s not prophetic…what a horrible world we’d have without trees and books!

  12. atrm61 says:

    Terribly dark future-hope we never reach that stage!An excellent take Patrick 🙂

  13. Nan Falkner says:

    So creative and I’m sure this could happen if we keep trashing the planet. Well, I love your take on the prompt. It was very clever indeed. Good writing! Nan 🙂

  14. A tale after my own dark version of the future… brilliant. Or not, as the case may be…

  15. elappleby says:

    I love the format of this – a very clever take. Just hope it doesn’t come true…

  16. Sandra says:

    “the trees were made from wood”… dripping with irony. Really well done.

  17. Sorchia D says:

    “Pre-Now”–love that. Sounds like an educational tour–hope it is never a reality. A good 100-word story.

  18. I have persevered and come finally towards the last stories (at least as of now) and here you are, Patrick. Love the story and I think they must be in my basement where all my books are stored. I’ll be the person keeping books alive. 🙂

    janet

  19. absolutely chilling….reminds me of the first time I watched the original Planet of the Apes…..a few years ago.

  20. Lovely, and I can just hear the tour guide’s slightly bored tone of voice.

I'd love to read what you think ...

