Human Error

For Friday Fictioneers

Copyright -Rochelle Wisoff-Fields

Copyright -Rochelle Wisoff-Fields

HUMAN ERROR

There’s no-one to meet me as the gates crash closed behind me.

I’m used to being ignored, to being alone. I mean, of the twenty seven years I’ve spent in that hell-hole, most were in solitary. Locked up, secured. Not as punishment but for protection. Not mine, but theirs. Even the toughest screws and cons blanched when they saw me approach.

They called me dangerous, schizophrenic, psychopathic. My charge sheet reads rapist, serial killer, child molester. Lock up for life. To die in prison.

The gates close behind me. I am free. Admin fuck up. I don’t complain.

“Hello, darlin’.”

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

53 Responses to Human Error

  1. Sarah Ann says:

    I feel this is not going to end well. Great character portrait! I hope ‘darlin’ didn’t do anything to upset your protagonist before he/ she went away. (It reads as a male, but could as easily be a woman.)

  2. Interesting story and well done. It may just be fiction, Patrick, but in the city where we line in India, a man killed a woman by decapitating her. He was let out on parole-something about a family problem-and he disappeared. As far as I know, they’ve never found him. Nothing surprises me any more.

  3. atrm61 says:

    Ack!Now some other poor innocent lives will be sacrificed with this demon on the loose-hang that one who screwed up-come on Patrick ! A fantastic take on the prompt and conjured up which terrifying possibilities-loved it 🙂

  4. Chilling in 100 words! Well written!

  5. Indira says:

    Well written but frightening.

  6. Nan Falkner says:

    Probably a government employee trying to hurry through his/her workload, and made a unforgivable mistake. HELP SOMEONE! Good story and unfortunately has happened before. Nan 🙂

  7. Oh dear! Major fuck up me thinks! Love this story – great take on the prompt.

  8. I finally made it this far in the list, Patrick, and I get this evil guy getting released by mistake?? Say it ain’t so! But you did the story so well. It’s interesting to read this right now as I’m reading the book that the movie “Invictus” came from (not called “Invictus”, too) about Nelson Mandela and of course there’s much there about him in prison.

    janet

    • Thanks for reading. You certainly got it right.
      Haven’t see/read Invictus but saw Long Walk to Freedom which was pretty good. I did have misgivings but they showed Mandela warts and all which is good. I hate for my heroes to be perfect.

  9. Bryan Ens says:

    I think that this would be a great opening to a much longer work of fiction, written from the pov of the perp. Well written!

  10. Whew. This one gave me the creeps. I love reading from the perspective of the “bad guy” for once. Very refreshing! Well done!

  11. Dear Patrick,

    Evil unleashed through admin screw up. Frighteningly good story.

    shalom,

    Rochelle

  12. draliman says:

    Yoinks, not the sort of person who should be roaming free. And unfortunately this sort of thing has actually happened.

  13. Amy Reese says:

    This mistake could be quite dicey, Patrick. I’m locking my doors now. I actually live not too far from a prison. Thanks for this.

  14. Judah First says:

    Now that is a great piece of writing! Loved it! Creepy story, but totally believable.

  15. plaridel says:

    the first sentence said no one met him at the gate. what’s the “hello, darlin’ at the end about? perhaps, it was the grim reaper? the guy was already dead?

  16. scrbwly says:

    hilarious… admin fuck up 🙂

  17. Lucy says:

    That was creepy. And now he’s out on the streets. very good. Lucy

  18. erinleary says:

    Oh my! Patrick. That is a chilling read! Not someone I’d like to run into. Well done!

  19. Ohhhhh!!!! A story that could be true! I must remember not to chat with strangers! 🙂

  20. Sandra says:

    Powerful stuff Patrick, indeed.

  21. Oh good grief… and these kind of blunders can happen, in our messy, disorganised world… Well done.

  22. Definitely a different take on the pic and well told. Human error at its most tragic as I’m sure there will be more rapes and murders to follow until he’s locked up again — or dead. :>

  23. Eeew, you’ve created a monster, Patrick. It’s clever to show us how scary he is through the eyes of people who come into contact with him.

  24. Taygibay says:

    Fully open to interpretations, excellent! Tay.

  25. I hope he’s not in my neck of the woods!

I'd love to read what you think ...

