Dust to Dust

Departed this life …

The headstones stood higgledy-piggledy in the small overgrown graveyard. If there had ever been any intention to maintain this resting place, this home to the dead, this body parking lot, it’s been long dissipated. The only constant is the sound of the Atlantic just over the hill; on this still day, a gentle murmur. Perhaps a prayer.

In memoriam.

Birth and death dates recorded. Proof of mortality. I shouldn’t be here. I shouldn’t be here screwing up my eyes to read the fading wording on these goodbye-slabs, these testimonial tombstones, these posthumous letters to the dearly departed saying the words unsaid to the living: loving, loyal, faithful; saying the words too late.

Sacred to the memory of…

This year I used up my threescore years and ten. I’m now on notice. I take courage from some of the information on the headstones – no, not information – data – it’s data now in the twenty first century, data – aged seventy five, aged eighty. I read greedily. But I know it’s not going to be long before I feel the tap on the shoulder, dance with the Grim Reaper, make my way across the river Lethe.

Rest in peace, mother of, son of…

I ask whether the fathers, sons, mothers and daughters who reside/resided – dust-to-dust – here had had good lives. Had they loved well, had they been loved well? Had they done their duty to their family, friends, community? Had they been faithful in mind and body and soul? Had they fought for king and country, right or wrong? Had they stood up to the tyranny of the bad man? Had they suffered? Had they despaired? What would they have changed?

Bless me Father, for I have sinned.

The voices rise up from under the soil in answer, “You’re really asking about yourself, aren’t you? You’re projecting. The question really is: ‘Have you done all these things, been all this things? What would you have changed?’”

And I think about my life. Mainly about the people I have loved, some well, and some badly. And the people who may have loved me. How would they answer these questions about me? What would they be writing on my gravestone, what would they be saying to St Peter, what would be my testimonial?

Momento Mori

I guess it’s too late now. It’ll soon be over. It won’t be long before the coffin maker, the grave digger and the stone mason get a work sheet bearing my name.  Not recycled. Not reused. Landfill!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Dust to Dust

  1. emmaleene says:

    This really makes the reader think about the meaning of their life- asking the same questions of their own life as the narrator. Very profound. I liked how this was written, the tone, the voice, the structure etc. I also think there’s a note of hope here- the narrator has a moment of epiphany and he is aware of the value of the time he has left still has time to do the things he wants to achieve !

  2. Elaine McKay says:

    Makes you think! I like the structure. I like the turn of phrase too one example being- ‘stood up to the tyranny of the bad man’ Expresses well the idea that things are repeated over and over throughout the ages.

  3. SJ O'Hart says:

    I enjoy wandering around old graveyards, remembering the departed with a prayer, reading their headstones and wondering about their lives, so this story reminds me of that. I think it’s a little bleak, but very emotional and true, and I admire that.

  4. alisasibrova says:

    It is very brave that you thought about yourself in the past tense in this story. I think I would never have the courage to do so. Other then that, I enjoyed the story, I would say it is more of an essay. Are the thoughts, that were described, yours or of an imagined character?

  5. Tessa Sheppard says:

    Makes you think. The guy seems sad, lots of introspection. I could see this as part of a larger story. Great job!

  6. Elaine Peters says:

    Patrick, this is lovely and so beautifully written. It avoids self-indulgence by the humour throughout. (I hope I didn’t set off the Grim Reaper train!)

I'd love to read what you think ...

