What’s the buzz?

This for Rochelle Wisoff-Fields’ Friday Fictioneers challenge.

bee

 

“This is the life. The good life. A warm, still, sunny day. Acres of clover and buttercup, a good handful of yarrow, a soupçon of pale dog-violets and a pinch of thyme. And that’s just the hors d’oeuvres.

“No beasts of burden or humans tramping on my food, the whole place to myself. Ne’er a worry in the world.

“Rats. Who’s this?

“Hello. Go away! Scoot! Have you booked? Private party. By invitation only.

“What? What? What’s that you’re saying? What’s the buzz? Stop flapping those wings. Speak up now.

“What? What? Insecti-what?

“Oh. Insecticide. Oh. Oh dear.

“I think I’ll skip the main dish.”

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

25 Responses to What’s the buzz?

  1. Lynda says:

    You know, Patrick, I missed this one the first time around. I’m glad you visited me today so I didn’t miss it this time. I love it! Sad a bit, but great writing. 🙂

  2. elmowrites says:

    Oh dear, no happy ending for this one, methinks. Let’s hope the second bee gets away in time. Sorry I’m late, still getting through last week’s stories…

  3. Joe Owens says:

    Perhaps instead of don’t drink the water it should be don;t sample the nectar!

  4. kz says:

    awww i like the way the bee talks, sounds like a nice little guy… too bad…

  5. vb holmes says:

    Suspect he’s a lucky bee to have gotten the buzz before chowing down. Fun story.

  6. howanxious says:

    Beautiful imagery in the first few sentences. And I loved the ending.

  7. bennitheblog says:

    Love the sense of humor!

  8. A little bee told him.

  9. Dear Patrick,

    Conversation between two bees? Cute.

    Shalom,

    Rochelle

  10. We have the same title! What are the odds? With a photo like this, probably better than usual.

    janet

I'd love to read what you think ...

