The Date

A hundred worder for Friday Fictioneers.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Image copyright – EL Appleby

We’ve all been there. Wake up in the morning. Eyes wide open, staring unseeing at the ceiling. Arms stretched down by our sides. Rigid.

It’s tonight. The blind date. Fixed by the boss’s daughter. Three people to impress. The date, the daughter, the boss. Oh, the tyranny of society.

Must be informed, have opinions. Turn on radio, read serious magazine.

What to wear? What to wear? Open drawers, wardrobe doors. Last year’s, all last year’s. Oh, the tyranny of fashion.

What the hell. Mix and match. Who cares? It’s personality that counts. Screw the boss. And his daughter. Not the date.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to The Date

  1. I hope he walks in, dressed like the animal in the picture. That would be a memorable night for everyone.

  2. Dear Patrick,

    I think he should wear the zebra striped trousers (zebra print’s “in” these days). Giraffe pattern shirt. Tiger stripes might clash with the zebra. 😉
    Clever used of the prompt.

    Shalom,

    Rochelle

    • Hi Rochelle, Have you ever thought of setting yourself up as a style guru?
      (Interestingly, when I wrote this, I had the narrator down as a woman. Yet all the comments refer to a “he”. This isn’t the first time I’ve not managed to convey the “femininity” of a character. It obviously requires a skill I don’t yet have.)

  3. Sarah Ann says:

    I’m glad he got his priorites right, especially that last one.

  4. neenslewy says:

    refreshing take on the prompt. Well connected.

  5. petrujviljoen says:

    I think it is Very Funny! The guy got the right attitude. Specially towards the boss, his daughter and the date in so far as who to screw and who not. Well done!

    • Thanks for that. He’ll find the right person somehow, some day. Actually, I thought it was a she but all the Comments refer to “he” so I guess I was wrong. Again. Need to get a new pen.

      • petrujviljoen says:

        Hahaha! Well done. Just shows how cultural assumptions can colour what one perceives.

  6. Oh my… I thought this was going to end with the person waking up next to the Elephazebralion or something….

  7. EagleAye says:

    Gads. The stress of a blind date, compounded by the boss and his daughter. Sounds like a recipe for disaster. I think the story’s final solution is the best. Screw it. 😉 A fun read!

  8. elappleby says:

    Love it! The tyranny of society, the tyranny of fashion. I really feel for this guy 🙂

  9. I know it’s not really funny, but I’m chuckling as I imagine him showing up for the day with a variety of patterns, colors and styles similar to the mix in the photo!! 🙂 If she can see past that, they have a chance.

    janet

I'd love to read what you think ...

